Cook With Us #22: Vegan Caramel Apple Pie with Cranberry Coulis and Coconut Creme

in #cookwithus6 years ago

When I first saw the challenge for "Cook With Us #22", I had every intention of making some ritzy, super toney pie or tart. You know... a little something, something fancy to suitable for a romantic dinner with dinner hubby. But, the oddest thing happened a few days ago. Something that is virtually unheard of in central North Carolina at the end of August. Cooler weather actually descended upon the area (at least cooler for us). As I embarked on my morning walk around the lake, my thoughts turned from making a fancy, smancy tart to a dessert worthy of a beautiful North Carolina fall day. For me, fall days are synonymous with a family trip to the mountains to enjoy the vibrant orange, yellow and red foliage as the leaves say goodbye to their summer green. And no trip to the mountains would be complete without a trip to the apple orchards to get a bushel of crisp apples just begging to be transformed into a delightful family treat. Just like that, my planned romantic fancy dessert was transformed into down-home, Caramel Apple Pie with Cranberry Coulis and Coconut Creme. It was far from fancy, in fact, I got distracted and the edges are, shall we say, a bit on the well-done side. But, IMHO, (and the opinion of my sweet hubby) it was oh so good! The perfect dessert for an cool, fall-like day.

This pie is subtly spiced with a flaky cinnamon swirl crust. One bite will have you dreaming of crisp fall days and brings to mind that childhood favorite, the caramel apple.

Make this pie, as with any recipe, using quality ingredients. In this case, I made my own vegan butter using a delicious recipe from acclaimed vegan chef, Miyoko Schinner (https://www.artisanveganlife.com/foundations/). The remaining crust ingredients included organic all-purpose flour, salt, organic sugar, non hydrogenated shortening, ice water, apple cider vinegar and cinnamon. The apple filling consisted of a mixture of Granny Smith and Fuji apples, sprinkled with organic brown and white sugar, a pinch of salt and generous portions of cinnamon, ginger, cloves and freshly grated nutmeg. Then, the apples are roasted in the oven until fork tender. This brings out all that caramel goodness. Once cooled, the apples are tossed with fresh lemon juice and flour before being piled high into the prepared crust for baking.

Of course, you can use your own favorite pie crust recipe...or in a pinch, buy one at the store. But, I've found that this pie crust works for me. The perfect pie for a family dinner or dinner guests.

This pie is like the best of both worlds ....an apple pie and a cinnamon roll.

Caramel Apple Pie with Cranberry Coulis and Coconut Creme

image.png

Oh, That Cinnamon Swirl Crust!!

image.png

Mise En Place for a Flakey, "Buttery" Vegan Crust

image.png

Roll out Prepared Pie Dough between Two Sheets of Parchment Paper.

image.png

Rolled Dough: Spread with Melted Vegan Butter, Sprinkled with Cinnamon and Sugar and Rolled Jelly Roll Style

image.png

Chill Dough in Fridge for about 30 minutes for easier slicing.

image.png

Slice Dough into 1/4 Inch Rounds.

image.png

Line Deep-Dish Glass Pie Plate with Dough Slices

image.png

Carefully Press Down Dough Rounds into Pie Plate

image.png

Blind-bake bottom crust for 10 - 12 minutes.

image.png

Prepare top Crust

image.png

Fill Crust with Prepared, Spiced Apple Mixture

image.png

Top with Crust, Crimp Edges and Brush Lightly with Almond Milk

image.png

Cooled, Sliced Pie: Piled High with Delicious Delicately Spiced Apples.

image.png

Plated Pie: All Dressed up with Caramel Sugar Work and Drizzled Figgy Caramel Sauce, Coconut Creme and Cranberry Coulis

image.png

Proof of Entry (Pardon my nails....it's definitely time for a manicure!)

image.png

GRAB A FORK AND DIG IN!!

Until later, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-27T11:45:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 77.95/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=atmemestable
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cook-with-us-22-vegan-caramel-apple-pie-with-cranberry-coulis-and-coconut-creme


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yes!! We had cooler weather here, too, and it had me dreaming of apples and a warm cup of cider watching the leaves fall! I am not ready for full on winter, but I do love the fall. This is the perfect recipe for cooler days that hopefully aren't too far off!

Such amazing photographs and plating @atmemestable - looks delicious

Congratulations @atmemestable!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Amazing article, @atmemestable. I hope to read more from you so I just followed you. I am a big fan of all plant based foods and I found most of the things I know through these 5 movies. Have you heard about them or watched them?
https://steemit.com/food/@cocktailguy/you-want-to-be-healty-follow-advice-on-how-to-shape-your-eating-habits-from-these-food-documentaries

Welcome to Cook with Us @atmemestable!

Oh yeah, I'd grab a fork and dig in. You certainly know your way in the kitchen. Your switch to a down-home pie proves one can come up with a wonderful and delicious dish minus the fancy fare. The beautiful rolled dough encased the delicious caramel apple filling. Yumm!

Thanks for your entry @atmemestable!

Welcome to Cook with Us @atmemestable! What a beautiful apple pie! I love the way the pie shell is rolled out. I have never seen that before. Thanks for sharing this dish with us and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28