Overnight Oats

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

I'm not a morning person. I crawl out of bed, rush through a shower and a dog walk before driving to work with my eyes only halfway open. I can't make smalltalk before 10am and a good amount of coffee.

I never find time for a good breakfast. Once in a while I might find a piece of fruit or some crackers, but it's rare for me to eat a real meal before lunch time.

Luckily my girlfriend and I found a quick, easy, filling recipe that can be prepared the night before and brought to work with us in the morning. It takes us no time in the morning, freeing up more time for important things... Like hitting the snooze button!

Overnight Oats

IMG_20180206_122758479.jpg

1/2 cup whole oats

IMG_20180206_122132945.jpg
Whole oats are extremely cheap - a 2.2 kg bag costs me around $4.
They're also extremely nutritious, with a ton of dietary fibre and protein.

Check out the nutrition and cost breakdown at the end of this post for the full details!

1/2 cup skim milk

IMG_20180206_122252853.jpg
More protein, calcium, and a ton of other healthy vitamins to start your day right. The milk gets poured directly onto the oats. It might look watery at first, but as it sits overnight the oats will soak up the majority of the milk.

If you prefer a thicker texture, try using a bit less milk to get harder oats.

1/2 cup flavored yogurt (optional)

IMG_20180206_122422875.jpg
Top the oats off with some yogurt. Another easy way to add calcium and protein to your morning meal. This also adds a ton of flavor.

Some yogurts contain a lot of added sugars, so they're not for everyone. Consider using greek yogurt for added protein and texture.

1/2 cup frozen berries

IMG_20180206_122635815.jpg
Finally add your fruit on top. This is where most of the flavor comes from. I prefer berries, but I have also tried the recipe with apple sauce, bananas, raisins, apples, pears and mangos.

I'm using frozen berries since they aren't available fresh during the winter, but I try to use fresh whenever I can.

Let sit, and enjoy!

Let the mixture sit in your fridge overnight, then get ready to enjoy a delicious and healthy breakfast the next morning.

Nutrition Breakdown

Nutrition DataWhole OatsSkim MilkYogurtFrozen BerriesTotal
Calories1504516040395
Total Fat2.5g0g7g0g9.5g
Saturated Fat2.5g0g5g0g7.5g
Cholesterol0mg3mg35mg0mg38mg
Sodium0mg62mg65mg0mg127mg
Carbohydrates29g7g19g19g74g
Fibre4g0g0g7g11g
Sugar0g7g19g10g36g
Protein5g5g4g1g15g

Cost Breakdown

Whole OatsSkim MilkYogurtFrozen BerriesTotal
$0.08$0.14$0.58$0.40$1.20

Costs in Canadian dollars, and are based on northern Ontario prices.

Note that the yogurt is the main culprit both in terms of costs and bad nutritional content. I like the flavor, so I add it, but it could easily be removed to make the overnight oats substantially cheaper and healthier.


Thanks for reading,

-Matt

If you enjoy my posts, don't
forget to upvote and
Sort:  

Overnight oats are my go-to breakfast! Absolutely love them. Great recipe :)

Glad that other people have discovered them! While the berry recipe is my favorite so far, I've found a lot of other good recipes too :). I might make another post later on to cover them

nice, looks delicious!

I'm very habit oriented, so I always eat a bowl of oatmeal and tea for breakfast! (unless i'm fasting)

This post has received a 1.59% upvote from thanks to: @weaselhouse.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD/STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

You got a 4.28% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @weaselhouse!

This post has received a 13.52 % upvote from @whatsup thanks to: @weaselhouse.

You got a 2.54% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @weaselhouse!

This post has received a 2.06 % upvote, thanks to: @weaselhouse.

You got a 2.45% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @weaselhouse!

This post has received a 22.73 % upvote from @voterunner thanks to: @weaselhouse. BIG NEWS: Build your passive income with daily payouts from @voterunner! Read more about earning SBD with me. Daily. The easy way!

This post has received a 5.23 % upvote from @moneymatchgaming thanks to: @weaselhouse. Upvote this Post to Support the MMG Community on Steemit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77