Sort:  

This looks like something we call Groselha. I wonder if it's the same thing... it's a very sweet drink, no sugar needed.

Cranberries are naturally very tart, so they really do need a bit of help. I've used about the minimum sugar, I think... but it wasn't very sweet.

Your drink sounds interesting though.

Hmmmmm. It looks like the one I know is made from Red Currant. 🤔

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redcurrant

Ah, yes. Sounds much sweeter! (Well, if blackcurrant is anything to go by... popular in the UK.)

Hey, @viking-ventures.

I really like cranberry juice, so I'll need to try this one of these days. I was wondering at the beginning how you would get to the juice and wasn't expecting a steeping effect. Guess I should have. I'm more into the consumption rather than how cranberries are prepared.

They are tart, though, so a little can go a long way. It's amazing how many things cranberries can show up in, though, and either make or break the flavor.

I'm glad to see we're not the only ones who drink juice from jam jars, since that's pretty much what was in them. Somehow, we've managed a small collection. They're not vintage, though. :)

Thanks for stopping by.
I confess that I was also surprised about how easy it would be to make this drink - and with using the berries themselves in the bread (or something else), there's no waste, like there is with other kinds of juice.

The rebel canners that I got this from also used it for grapes. I'd expect you could use it with lots of different fruits including the red currants that @trincowski was talking about.

It's very useful to do the juice this way since cranberries are only really available this time of year, so I make my juice, my sauce and my winter cold medicine (which I didn't photograph this year...)

I remember those jam jars from when I was little and was delighted to find them again - and doubly excited when I found out they had a good collector's value. I'm not selling them though - will just keep collecting (especially as there are other versions that I recognize now...)

I love cranberry juice and your recipe looks so easy to make, gotta give it a shot. (of vodka) maybe? hehe
Every week you come up with such great stuff @viking-ventures, glad you spend #fff with us.

Thank you! And yes, it's very easy. If you want to make it tipsy, I would use the vodka or whatever (cassis would probably be wonderful) as part of the redilution.

I have to make many things myself due to allergies, so I started taking pictures as I went. I'm glad to have a reason to dig into my pictures every Friday (and to keep more coming.)

Thanks for stopping by!

Excellent! I hope you will share your results.

@viking-ventures
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 72
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent
Food Coma
6BBDA2B1-F4BB-4A37-99BE-EC813695E551.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER



Hey @viking-ventures, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for using the #build-it tag. This post has been manually rewarded with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote with our @build-it.curator account. You can buy, stake, and exchange our "BUILD" tokens for steem on steem engine and Steem Leo's exchange

Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself.

Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

What a great drink for the holidays. I mean red and all, how can you go wrong @viking-ventures

Thank you! Yes, it's great for the holidays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41