Sort:  

Very informative @viking-ventures, even someone who doesn’t know their way around the kitchen can follow this one. You made it really simple. Great contender, chef! Good luck in round 75.

Happy holidays to you, Lori, thanks for continuing to come back for food fight. I hope you’re enjoying your weekend and happy holidays to you and yours.

Thanks so much. At some point, I will go more into the details of deep frying. I've never had an electric gadget for this, but learned how to do it anyway. (I really should get the electric one though so I can control the temp better.)

Oh man, if you’re doing your deep frying without a temperature setter, you’re way ahead of the game. At this point, the electric one will probably bore you to sleep.

Nah, I'll just get better results and be lazier. ;-)
But that's why it's never been at the top of my list of things to get for the kitchen.

Very nicely done @viking-ventures, you hit the trifecta; fried shrimp, potato and squash are all perennial favorites of mine. You got my vote.

Oooo, thanks! I'm glad you like it. I was pleasantly surprised. I keep wanting to like summer squashes more and this was a definite winner.

When I was young and growing up in S Ga USA, there were always 'summer squash' although I don't remember calling them that; they were just squash.
If they were cooked in a stew with other veggies, I most likely wouldn't notice, but stewed alone, nope.
Now FRIED (breaded... mama was too much a country woman to worry about all that trouble to batter something) I loved them.
Fried Okra is great that way, not slimy at all.
Now I like all manner of veggies fried, but usually I can take them whoever I find them, literally. I won't do to turn me loose in your garden, I'll go grazing eating most anything raw right off the bush; bug poop and all.

Hahahaha - never grown up, eh? ;-)
I grazed all the berries and peas...

I'd never seen the yellow summer squash growing up, but everyone had zucchini - it grew to epic sizes, even in rainy Oregon.

When I lived in England, I learned more about winter squashes, though I've never been a fan of them - except pumpkin (which is basically a winter squash.) But even pumpkin won't do it for me unless sweetened as a pie or custard... (or in bread...) That was where I learned about all the different kinds of pumpkin - most of them not orange at all.

And I had never heard of, much less seen zucchini until I was adult. No one grew it where I was from.
I'm not a fan of pumpkin except as flavoring in drinks etc.. never did like pumpkin nor sweet potato pie for that matter.
I'm a weird bird.
But you know what? Growing up I could not STAND green beans, mustard, turnip nor collard greens. Still don't like collards, but I like the rest just fine now.

Is zucchini more of a northern bird then? I guess it loves the wet climates of the Pacific Northwest and England a lot.

I still don't like sweet potatoes. I can tolerate it mashed with regular potatoes, but so far, that's the only way I'll eat them. Hubby likes them though, so I can them for the holidays.

When you are younger, you have more taste buds, so more sensitive tastes. We grow into the stronger, stranger flavors.

From wikipedia
The zucchini, like all squash, originates in the Americas, specifically Mesoamerica. Zucchini itself was developed in northern Italy in the second half of the 19th century, long after the introduction of cucurbits from the Americas in the early 16th century.
A zucchini is a thin-skinned cultivar of what in Britain and Ireland is referred to as a marrow. In South Africa, a zucchini is known as a baby marrow.

Hmmm. I'm going to take issue with what they say about Britain then... A zucchini is known as a courgette in Britain until it grows too large, then it becomes a marrow. Hence, more like what it says for South Africa.

Another fantastic display of kitchen master class here - looks delicious 😋

I am a sucker for fried foods. I tend to eat them as fast as they come out of the oil and cool off. Your walkthrough made this seem so simple and easy. Great job!!! It’s always a pleasure have you in the food fight Friday arena. Cheers!!

hahaha. I'm glad I've whetted your appetite this week. Thanks for stopping by!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@viking-ventures
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 75
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
11449B3A-B6AE-4989-960C-7174F7465270.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER



Hey @viking-ventures, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40