Original Hungarian Vegan Dish: Pasta with Ground Walnuts and Apricot Jam

in #cooking7 years ago

Today, in Pécs, Hungary, my mother in low prepared lunch.

It started with tomato soup, with a few small pasta in it.

Then, the main dish was very original and very interesting: pasta with ground walnuts and apricot jam.
Instead of apricot jam, or in supplement to it, you can use powdered sugar.


20170606_131049.jpg

First, you boiled the pasta, as usual, with a little oil in the water and a little salt, but not too much..
The pasta in Hungarian are called "széles metélt" that are very similar to tagliatelles or fettuccines.


szeles-metelt.jpg

Next, you need ground walnut. In her garden, my mother in law has a walnut tree. She has collected the walnuts, broken the shells and kept the kernels in her deep freezer.
This morning, she has put some kernels in the oven for five minutes, then ground them manually.


20170606_131327.jpg

Then, you need apricot jam. My mother in law makes jam with fresh fruits. Last year, in July, she made several jar of apricot jam.
My wife called jokingly that this is the Obama jam", as apricot is Hungarian is "barack" (actually, it is more accurately "sárgabarack", but she uses only "barack" for apricot).


apricot_jam.jpg

You may also use powdered sugar instead of apricot jam, or even in addition to it. For myself, I don't need to add more sugar.

Here again are all the ingredients for this dish that my wife call "dios tészta".


20170606_131102.jpg

To eat this, in a plate, you take some pasta, sprinkled ground walnuts, add some apricot jam (all "according to taste") and mix thoroughly.

Believe me, it is delicious

This may be a surprising dish for those of us who do not think that pasta may be eaten sweet, but you have to try it to discover that it could.





Sort:  

Walnuts are another one of those underappreciated foods for their nutritional value.

I may have to try this for breakfast.

Excellent idea!

I believe you !
loling at Obama jam

Very delicious! I want it right now!

Then you will have to find the ingredients and prepare it yourself.

That's the problem!

Yes thank you .... I hope we support each other in developing the post ....

Been on the vege for 2 weeks now and feelin good

I have been vegan since October 2016.

In New York, it is easy to be vegan.
In Paris it is a little harder.
In Hungary, it is really hard.

I live in the food bowl of Australia so it's easy

Would love to read about about your reasons for going vegan (and some of your go-to meals). Maybe you've written about that already--I'll go scroll through your feed.

I've been vegetarian for 10+ years and was vegan last year until I was pregnant and just found everything was making me feel sick and only a few foods appealed to me. I still make a lot of vegan meals (Isa Does It is our go-to recipe book), but have yet to go back to full veganism (baby is 3 months old). I do plan to though!

Would love to read about about your reasons for going vegan (and some of your go-to meals).

You will have to wait for some time, until I reach last year in the story of my life. Probably next year.

In summary: it is better for your health, for the animals and for the environment.

I'm vegetarian and I'm going to try this recipe--sounds unusual but yummy. Though, I won't be growing my own walnuts or making my own jam... Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome.

Do not forget to put the walnut in the oven for at least 5 minutes.

That made me feel real hungry...looks incredibly delicious!

Yes, it is, indeed.

Looks amazing ~!~
Cheers for the amazing food :)

Thank you. And cheers to you too.

Looks delicious, I just love walnuts!

I'm a big fan of Hungarian cuisine, but all I can do it eating it.. Thanks for showing other part of the story!

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73