PANINI & ME - HOT OFF THE PRESS! - LESSON 5 - THE QUESADILLAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking7 years ago

One of the Holy Grails of Panini Press Cooking!


 So how did the grilled cheese go?

I’m sure you were frustrated at first because you probably screwed it up multiple times, and your mom was probably mad at you for making such a mess.

But through multiple runs of trial and error, you probably started to get the hang of it.

SAME FOOD GROUP…DIFFERENT CULTURES


We are going to stay in the same food family but this time we will try making a quesadilla.

There is a big difference between quesadillas and grilled cheese because one is dealing with bread, and the other is dealing with tortillas.

This is because the quesadillas is from the Mexican culture while the grilled cheese was invented by French people.

The one thing I hate most about the quesadilla is spelling quesadilla.

It’s a royal pain in the ass and I’m pretty sure it should be spelled Casadea.

The silent Q and L drive me nuts because we don’t call a Q ball a Kay ball.

Or I guess if pool was invented by the Mexicans it would be a Kay Bay because you don’t say the Q or LL.

EITHER WAY, IT’S ANNOYING


Speaking of annoying, who doesn’t have a pass code on their phone?

I’ll tell you who doesn’t, FREAKING CARL!!!

What a loser, his mom read my text to him where I told him to “take a bath and throw his George Foreman grill in the bath while it was plugged in” and she told my mom.

What a loser!

BACK TO QUESADILLAS


By now you should be completely aware that there is a lot more science than you thought when using your panini press.

Again, we will have to apply science to the quesadilla.

I know what you’re thinking, “I know I know, the heat causes a chemical reaction to the cheese you already told us that”.

While you are right, you are also wrong.

I wasn’t talking about that so you need to stop acting like you know it all.

I was actually referring to the different densities between the bread and a tortilla. They are very different and you will have to know how to adjust to this difference.

KEY DIFFERENCES


The tortilla is thinner and if cooked too long will become more of a chip.

You don’t want that so you need to watch your quesadilla like a freaking hawk.

Two things can ruin a quesadilla and that’s over cooking it, and under cooking it.

It needs to be just right so for this lesson I’m requiring you to check it every 15 seconds after the one minute mark.

KEEP IT SIMPLE


Now I know you can add all sorts of things to you quesadilla, but since you are a beginner you will just make a plain cheese one.

When done successfully about 100 times then you can add things like chicken or steak.

Cheese only quesadillas aren’t that bad if you have the right kind of hot sauce to put on them.

So next time you go to Del Taco make sure you dine in so you can load your pockets with hot sauce packets.

TAKE IT FROM ME


Remember, you need to be patient as all good things take time to perfect.

You will eventually get there and when you do, you will thank me for this life changing lesson! 

  Previous Lessons:

  1. LESSON 1
  2. LESSON 2
  3. LESSON 3 (this was recalled, read why)
  4. LESSON 3.1
  5. FUN FACTS ABOUT THE PANINI PRESS
  6. HOW TO CARE FOR YOUR PANINI PRESS
  7. Lesson 4

Let us know your thoughts!  

{ Follow us | Steemit- @thedailyroto | Twitter- @xtramoneyblog }

{Support us | Genesis-mining - 3% Discount | Daily Fantasy Sports


 

Sort:  

Nice lesson for a beginner..thanks

You're welcome....it's one of the bedstone projects for making a great Panini Chef!

Well.... what's there to eat? Knock it off Napoleon, make yourself a dang quesadilla or something- Napoleon Dynamite

Great! Love that movie! Words of wisdom for sure.

I hope I don't get in trouble for taking a sneak peak at my future recipes. I'm not quite to this lesson but wanted to see what the future holds and I'm excited. That is if i can get to this level

yeah well....take it slow it's a marathon not a sprint!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86