Spicy Honey Lime Chicken (and Some Turkey)

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

I really enjoy food, which is definitely not something you can tell by the size of my waist, with my 182 cm of height and 62 kg I can proudly say that I have proportions lots of girls dream of.

(Yes, I'm bragging, and yes, I know that's a crime in our society, but honestly - I really couldn't care less 😎)

I enjoy food in the terms of its quality, not quantity, meaning that I would rather pay $30 for a meal in a high cuisine restaurant, and not eat anything else that day, then buy the equivalent of fast food and have foods for the whole day or even two. Maybe that explains my weight... Well, food is certainly not something that someone should save money on.

Of course, there's always cooking as another option. And although it is not always the best one (lack of time, will, dirty dishes, etc.), it's certainly the good choice considering food quality/price ratio.

So today I decided to try one very interesting recipe @justtryme90 shared with us several days ago, spicy honey lime chicken thighs. Here's the recipe:

Ingredients
4 minced garlic cloves
1 tablespoon soy-sauce
1/4 cup honey
juice of 1 lime
salt and freshly ground pepper (for seasoning the chicken itself)
1 - 2 tablespoon(s) Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce
1 3/4 to 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs ( what ever one package at the store is, I made 1.25 Lbs in the pictures above).
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
chopped fresh parsley for garnish

How To Make

  1. Mix the garlic, soy sauce, honey, lime juice and garlic pepper sauce in a small bowl or container. Stir to combine, set aside.
  2. Season both sides of the chicken with some salt and fresh cracked black pepper.
  3. In a large skillet over medium-high heat add the olive oil. Once the skillet is hot add the chicken thighs in a single layer. Cook the chicken until browned on both sides, 4-5 minutes per side.
  4. Reduce the heat to medium and add the garlic lime mixture and cook the chicken, turning and stirring and basting occasionally, until cooked through entirely, and the sauce thickens (it will eventually become sticky as the water evaporates off). It takes a while for the sauce to thicken but the chicken stays sufficiently moist so long as you take care to baste with the sauce as you cook. Be careful not to let it burn on the bottom as the honey is inclined to burn when the sauce thickens up.
  5. Sprinkle the chicken with the freshly chopped parsley.

Getting the ingredients


So I headed to the supermarket and got the necessary ingredients for the seasoning:

20180825_120726.jpg

And the meat, of course - I couldn't find boneless chicken thighs, so I bought plain ones (with bones and skin):

20180825_122513.jpg

Now, as gym/workout addict and someone who is obsessed with proper protein intake, I was afraid that I won't get enough lean meat because of all those bones and skin, so I decided to complement the chicken with some lean, turkey breasts. Plus they were on a promotion - buy one, get another one for free.

Lean, high quality protein, 50% off? Shut up and take my money!

Also, I thought lean turkey meat would be a good contrast to all that fat from chicken skin, so I decided to give it a try and do some mixing of dinosaurs birds.

(Hey, it's a biologist writing here, what were you expecting?)

Preparation by @scienceangel


According to the recipe, seasoning should be made first. This is how it looked like in my favorite "Music Lover" cornflakes bowl:

20180825_122540.jpg

Then I proceeded to meat preparation, this is how it looked in a pan, before adding of seasoning:

20180825_123508.jpg

Instead of salt, I decided to add a special culinary "secret" of all people from Balkans - Vegeta (this name will sound familiar to all the fans of Dragon Ball as well 😂). This is the culinary mixture that has been around since forever (our grandmothers used it, no meal could be made without it), and it consists of salt and dry vegetables, such as parsley, carrots, onions, etc.). It gives a very special taste to your food, and whenever possible I use it instead of plain salt.

After meat has obtained its brown crust, I added the seasoning and cooked until it got thick:

20180825_124109.jpg

Serving


Since I didn't bother making a side dish (I don't enjoy cooking THAT much!), I decided to complement the chicken/turkey meal with some nice, fresh French brioche.

Needless to say that it was delicious :)

20180825_124945.jpg

🍴 Bon appétit! 🍴

scienceangel.png

Sort:  

I am loving all this recipe sharing that is beginning to take place in our community! I love good food, and I love preparing food too! As you are conscious about protein-intake and you didn't have the time to make a side dish. I would like to humbly suggest quinoa cooked in chicken stock for the next time! :)

Enjoy your weekend @scienceangel & much love to you always.

Thank you dear Abi for your wonderful comment, sharing the positive mood as always!

I'm not such a big fan of quinoa unfortunately...

Lean, high quality protein, 50% off? Shut up and take my money!

I really felt that hahah :')

This honestly “looks” tasty and you definitely know a lot about foods. I’d certainly pay to have you as my dietician tbh :)

That can be arranged ;)

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95