Is Cooking A Science?

in #cooking6 years ago

I love to cook, I do it all the time. Here I made some spicy honey lime chicken thighs, parmesan crusted roasted red potatoes and some green beans.

Potatoes in the oven

image

Finished Potatoes!

image

Chicken cooking

image

Chicken is finished!

image

Plate it up with some roasted green beans and you too can eat like a boring scientist!

image

It's nice to add a bit of fresh parsley and a fresh squeeze of lime over the chicken. The added acidity really helps complement the sweetness of the honey in the sauce.

Sort:  

Your dish looks so delicious! I love cooking too, I can relate! Have a good day!

It was tasty, that's for sure.

Oh my, my ....
Beautiful! :)
I love the final lime-squeeze touch. Bravo!

cooking is a science?? of course !!!!!!

Hmm, is it though? I didn't test a hypothesis. I just followed a protocol. I guess this begs the question is doing a molecular biology protocol even doing science?

i dont know molecular biology protocol is, what is it?
just from my perspective why involved science ;
cooking involved method such as frying, baking, sautee, boil and etc.
also require hypothesis for new combination between some ingredient to get a better flavour, taste texture and etc. involve number for measurement and time. with all step doing it. i think while i doing it i doing science..
just opinion.. once again sorry for my bad english.. anyway, great food there you're making sir.

I don't understand what you are apologizing for...

You make a fair point!

Don't worry about molecular biology if you don't know what that refers to, no big deal! :)

I love to cook, I do it all the time

That makes two of us. I guess I owe the thanks to my mum that forced me to love cooking :D

Meanwhile; just the sight of this food has piqued my appetite.. I think I'm now hungry.

# Sammy runs to grab something to eat 👣👣

You know I love cooking as well!!!
This looks really delicious, I like the lime and honey combination, yin and yang !!!
I am going to try and do this on an open fire (we love that sort of cooking in SA). I will send ya pics:)
PS: I love the pic that you took walking to work. What caught my attention was the artwork within those blocks on the bridge. Each artist had their own canvas to create within.

Thank you for sharing this with us all!!!

Oh yeah, send pics. Curious how it would turn out. Yeah, some neat graffiti there!

Ok I want the recipe, seriously!!!

Let's start with chicken ;)

Ingredients

  1. 4 minced garlic cloves
  2. 1 tablespoon soy-sauce
  3. 1/4 cup honey
  4. juice of 1 lime
  5. salt and freshly ground pepper (for seasoning the chicken itself)
  6. 1 - 2 tablespoon(s) Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce
  7. 1 3/4 to 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs ( what ever one package at the store is, I made 1.25 Lbs in the pictures above).
  8. 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  9. chopped fresh parsley for garnish

How To Make

  1. Mix the garlic, soy sauce, honey, lime juice and garlic pepper sauce in a small bowl or container. Stir to combine, set aside.

  2. Season both sides of the chicken with some salt and fresh cracked black pepper.

  3. In a large skillet over medium-high heat add the olive oil. Once the skillet is hot add the chicken thighs in a single layer. Cook the chicken until browned on both sides, 4-5 minutes per side.

  4. Reduce the heat to medium and add the garlic lime mixture and cook the chicken, turning and stirring and basting occasionally, until cooked through entirely, and the sauce thickens (it will eventually become sticky as the water evaporates off). It takes a while for the sauce to thicken but the chicken stays sufficiently moist so long as you take care to baste with the sauce as you cook. Be careful not to let it burn on the bottom as the honey is inclined to burn when the sauce thickens up.

  5. Sprinkle the chicken with the freshly chopped parsley.

This recipe is a modified version of the one available Here

Thanks so much! After I translate all of these to the metric system, I'll be on it! :D

The amounts don't make any sense in metric :p

American units are nonsensical.

This looks so so so delicious. There is a bit of science to cooking, I believe. There is science in lighting the gas in which oxygen is utilised to enable combustion. Cooking the food itself and getting done is a kinda chemical process, lol. My take.

@sciencetech
STEM contributor

Well cooking itself is definitely a chemical process, not even kinda! Lots of reactions happening from oxidation to protein denaturation.

when you are hungry, everything looks like a masterpiece =) hhahaha

Hmm, very true. :D

Cooking is an art...

...and so is science.

Is my food really art though? Does it evoke an emotion?

Of course! Your results are very aesthetically pleasing. Could very easily elicit emotions ranging from hunger to desire to love to disgust and back. Hunger being, of course, the strongest emotion there is.

Not when I do it. When I do it, it's a crime

Following recipes reminds me of doing molecular biology protocols. Bakeing especially. Cooking you can be a bit more loosey goosey with the volumes and amounts and things still turn out pretty good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76