Tips for Cooking With Phyllo Dough

in #cooking6 years ago

Yesterday I posted a recipe for Apple Pocket Pies, which use the nifty ingredient of phyllo doughs. But other than being a fluffy, light dough that’s a wonderful base for pastries, phyllo dough is extremely versatile and is great in savory dishes too. Use it as a pizza crust, a flaky layer in your lasagna, or in any number of creative and delicious ways.

Baklava, Greek, Strawberry, Dish, Sweet, Dessert, Red

Despite all it’s versatility and yumminess, phyllo dough is not always easy to work with. Because of the incredibly thin layers, it tends to dry out and fall to pieces. So follow these tips if you want success in you phyllo dough based dishes:

Prepare all your ingredients before bringing out and unwrapping the phyllo dough. The longer the phyllo dough is out of the fridge, the more likely it is to tear and crumble.

Cover your phyllo dough with a damp, clean cloth or damp paper towel when you’re working. This helps the phyllo dough retain moisture.

Unused phyllo dough can be wrapped tightly in plastic wrap and stored in the fridge for 2 weeks or 2 months in the freezer.

The best way to keep phyllo dough malleable and moist is to work as fast as you can! And when you are done with your creation, brush the dough with oil or melted butter to add more flavor.

Sort:  

It looks very tasty!

What a dish!!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Amazing dish. I've gone crazy watching your dish. I am unhappy that I can only see your dish, I cannot eat. I would definitely like to eat it. 100 % vote with full steem power

Stop by Albuquerque sometime and we will treat you to a feast!

Thanks @pinkspectre, If I have lived my life then surely I will come here to you.

Hi @pinkspectre. Just wondering how I could obtain this kind of dough. Is it only sold in stores in the United States? I don't think I've seen this in South Korea, so maybe there's a way to make it by hand? Looks pretty complicated, so I'm sure that it would be difficult to make by hand. But if you have any recipes for making it by hand, let me know!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am so bad about my doughs, I usually always cheat and get store bought to save time! But I did find this recipe online.
If you do attempt it, let me know how it goes!

Look like so delicious this dish. Such a good dish to have it at lunch time.

I haven't worked with a store-bought Phyllo dough, but I have made my own and it was pretty good when stored in a fridge for a couple hours.

Wow.. This looks so good🤤

Looks very very delicious 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65941.36
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67