Sun-dried Tomato Pesto

in #cooking6 years ago

This sun-dried tomato pesto has to be one of my favorite sauces. Tossed with pasta or smeared on garlic bread, it is a bite of heaven. I also like to swipe it on stuffed portobello mushrooms or dip rosemary crackers into this savory, flavorful spread.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sun-dried tomatoes, drained (the jarred kind stored in olive oil)
  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese, fresh grated
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • ¼ teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • ½ cup olive oil
  1. Place the basil, garlic, sun-dried tomatoes and ¼ cup of the olive oil in a food processor. Pulse until you near the consistency you would like your pesto to be. (I always allow a few thick chunks to remain for hearty bites of flavor)
  2. Add the parmesan, salt and pepper to the food processor and pulse until combined. Add the remaining olive oil and pulse.
  3. Place in glass jar. You can store this pesto rossa in the fridge for 7 to 9 days.
Sort:  

I've only ever made pesto with basil. I've never thought to make it with sun dried tomatoes. That sounds amazing. I'm going to try your recipe for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

I gotta try this one, a pasta sauce I'm IN! Pasta is my thing lol

I love pesto and garlic. Nice to know that you can store it for a week.

Delicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@pinkspectre, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

It's funny how I don't care for fresh tomatoes, but when it comes to sun-dried tomato pesto, I can put it on any food and love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38