Learn From My Inexperience: Growing and Roasting Hatch/Anaheim Chiles

in #cooking7 years ago


This is a preview-image workaround for technical difficulties; the post-relevant images are inside

Today I roasted my homegrown Hatch chiles for the first time! Learn with me from my mistakes.

This is my first time growing chiles, as well, so I wasn't sure when to harvest. When the first one turned red, I thought, oh, red must = harvest.

DON'T WAIT THAT LONG.

Here are the three chiles I grew (yes, just three, in a pot, indoors since it got cold outside). The middle long red one I harvested a couple of weeks ago (I didn't harvest the day I posted about it).

The curly red one I harvested a few days ago; the green one I picked tonight.

This is them after roasting:

The oldest one was completely crispy critters and inedible; the other red one I barely got any meat out of; the green one was the bulk of my harvest!


As seen here.

So, pick while green. Now, onto roasting: I put them in the toaster oven on broiler setting for ten minutes, then flipped them over to do the other side for another ten minutes. Then, while still hot, put them in a sealed plastic baggie to steam for twenty minutes, which is supposed to make peeling off the skin easier.

I don't know if that was easier; I gave up trying to peel the skin off and ended up scraping out the flesh with a spoon.

So, lessons I've learned growing and roasting chiles:

1! Hand pollinate the flowers
2! Pick when a few inches long or so and green
3! Pick the day you intend to roast them
4! Scoop out guts with a spoon

Learn from my experience, and may you have an abundant chile harvest. 😊

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Sort:  

Maybe they need less time roasting?
and
May I use your placeholder meme? I like it.

I was following instructions for the roasting; it even said I could have done 15 minutes each side. I think I just let them get too old.
LOL feel free! I am using those because I can't upload directly to Steemit since my Kindle browser updated; I figured out a workaround by uploading to FB first, but if I do that, it doesn't show an image in feed ...it looks like a broken link. It will show images from meme maker sites, though! :)

15 minutes each side sounds a bit extreme to me (but then I am English). I'd have the grill quite hot and I'd be pulling them out as the skin started to blacken, which will vary as I guess the green ones have a higher water content. I think you're right about roasting them soon after you've picked them, though.
Yes, I'd understood you were having troubles with images and using placeholders as a workaround. I just like the juxtaposition of that character, whose name escapes me, and being a place-holder. It may be that it's something I want to say at work about myself 😁

Lol! Morpheus is his name.
I thought roasting them was supposed to calm the heat a bit, lol. But the enchiladas were extra hot, so maybe not! 😂

Good tips to know. I totally would have assumed red = harvest as well

Right? LOL oh well. I learn through gardening errors...

Nice topic brother. Nice explained. Thanks for your writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49