Being able to cook really does skip a generation each time.

in #cooking8 years ago


I think there's something in the Skip a generation when it comes to cooking. My Nanna was a great cook, my mum bless her not so much. Me I think i'm pretty good if i do say so myself. AND THEN.... There is my nearly 12 year old daughter.
She decided for tea tonight she just wanted 2 pre-cooked sausage rolls that you just warm up in the microwave for 30 seconds.
So i said to her, you can do them, I am pretty sure you don't need me to cook those for you.
Reluctantly she agrees to have a go at "cooking" her own tea.
She gets out 2 sausage rolls, she gets out a plate, she puts plate in microwave, puts it to 30 seconds. Microwave dings. Daughter has forgotten to put the sausage rolls on the plate.
Oh how I despair.
At least I know my future Grandchildren will be able to cook :)

Sort:  

Our generation has too much distractions we are living in a new era. Learning the values how to cook and run a household is rare these days

I wonder about that. I used to joke that if it didn't come out of a box or a can, then it wasn't homemade. That was mom's style of cooking. My grandparents didn't cook. But I ended up a foodie with a love of cooking and baking, perfecting my own recipes. If she didn't give birth to me, my mother would think I was someone else's child. LOL My kids though... OMG - I got a call about a month ago asking how to make BOXED mac & cheese!!! They said it didn't taste the same as I made it. I said - follow the directions on the box! Oh...and add about 3 slices of sandwich cheese.

this made me giggle and reminds me of the teen so much. his younger sisters however are better cooks than me.

My grandma was an excellent cook so surely I should be too? Well I can make good puddings but my main courses are limited! My brother makes an awesome Yorkshire Pudding though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67241.85
ETH 3492.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68