Trying Not To Melt In The Melting Pot of Bahrain

in #cooking7 years ago

Summer time in Bahrain is HOT! I definitely got used to the heat living out in the California desert during the four years I lived in Palm Springs, but the Bahrain heat seems different and comes with more humidity. Palm Springs was hot but dry, and living there I was surrounded by beautiful mountains, resorts, and golf courses. In Bahrain I am surrounded by city and sand, and ironically, although I am living on a desert island surrounded by the beautiful Arabian Gulf, good beaches are rare and not easily accessible. Fortunately I do have the refuge of indoor air conditioning and a pool on the rooftop of my apartment building. Today is 48 Celsius, or about 118 Fahrenheit. A pool and AC are definitely a godsend.

We are just about to head into the long weekend of Eid al-Adha, our festival of sacrifice. It is also known as Big Eid, and it honors the willingness of Ibrahim to sacrifice his son as a sacrifice to God's command. It's a time for family celebrations and dinners, plus a lot of special events and parties for the large expat community here as well.

One thing that makes Bahrain special and unique compared to other places in the Gulf is the melding of east and west and everything in between. The Kingdom of Bahrain is awash with a mix of traditions and customs from all over the world, all blending together in an interactive cosmopolitan setting enhanced by a carefree, attractive, liberal lifestyle that is steeped in a deep and rich culture going back thousands of years. In other Gulf nations, you will see a vast separation between locals and expats. In Bahrain we all live and work together harmoniously. I have met, worked with, and become friends with not just Bahrainis, but quality people from scores of other countries. I can go around town on any given day and catch conversations not only in Arabic and English, but in Hindi, Tagalog, Farsi, Thai, Malayalam, Punjabi, Afrikaans, Bengali, Russian, Bahasa, Amharic, French, Spanish, Tamil, and on and on…. All people who have come to this magical group of islands for a better life and the sharing together of different experience and cultures. This not only makes Bahrain the Capital of Arab Culture, but a cultural example for the rest of the world.


Bahrain has been a major part of ancient trade routes for several centuries and was one of the first places to embrace Islam outside of mainland Arabia. This helped secure its place as the Capital of Arab Culture and also gives Bahrain a rich multicultural history going back thousands of years, making it one of the world’s first “melting pots”.


An outdoor art display at the Bahrain Heritage Festival

When I worked at the Gulf Hotel from 2009-2012, I was very fortunate to be a part of a diverse food and beverage team representative of close to fifty different nationalities. I got to know pretty much the entire line staff personally because many of them attended the six-week Comprehensive Introduction to Wine Course I facilitated during my tenure there as sommelier. I also was fortunate to work with many of the back of house staff and chefs. The Gulf Hotel is a culinary wonderland. The Food and Beverage operation could be compared to Bahrain’s “Las Vegas of Restaurants” with over a dozen different outlets including flagship restaurants for Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Italian, Persian, Lebanese, Mexican, Indian, Continental and World Cuisine all enhanced by a first class buffet, coffee and sweet shops, and a large catering operation. It was an amazing organization to be a part of, especially because of the top-drawer, hardworking, and dedicated staff. You get a different feeling when you walk into the Gulf Hotel compared to other hotels in Bahrain. You feel like you are at home. I’m not just saying this because I worked there. It is true. There is a unique genuity of hospitality you feel there that exudes from the staff and their attention to detail. Perhaps it also has to do with the fact that the Gulf Hotel is the first five-star Bahraini property. Founded in 1969, it has risen and proven itself to be an example of excellence in the industry showcasing the unparalleled hospitality of the unpretentious yet cosmopolitan multinational Bahraini community.


The Gulf Hotel Bahrain

One bonus of working at the Gulf was being able to work with so many different chefs and types of cuisine. Over a dozen different kitchens and operations with different themes. The lounge I ran there gave our guests the option of ordering in from any of the wide array of restaurants and having it served in the wine bar. You could even mix it up and have a little Mexican with a little Thai if you so desired. All of course paired with one of the 36 wines I offered by the glass, or one of my personal table side wine tastings. Coordinating this food with the different chefs of the various kitchens gave me a unique look into how they did things and greatly improved my understanding of various cuisines and cooking styles.

As I stated in the beginning, this time of year in Bahrain is hot, hot, hot! When it’s hot like this, I like to make something light and simple. One thing my friend Khalid liked to order when he came to visit me at the Gulf Hotel was the green papaya salad from Royal Thai Restaurant. I gave my first attempt at making “Som Tam” the other day when my friend Amy came over the past weekend for dinner with me and my flat mate. I served it as one of the starters, but it is also good on its own for lunch, especially on a hot summer’s day. I know my dish is nowhere near as fabulous as the version of Chef Tawatchai and his culinary team at the Royal Thai, but my version is still crunchy, crisp and refreshing as well as very healthy. I did my best to create something similar to what I remember seeing done at the restaurant (it has been a few years since I worked there) with a few of my own personal touches. I even put a bit of a Bahraini twist on the dish by substituting date syrup for palm sugar in the dressing. It gives a nice sweet balance to the heat from the chilies. Now that Ramadan is over, this salad would go perfectly with a nice cold glass of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, if you are so inclined.

If you are in Bahrain you should definitely stop by the Royal Thai Restaurant or one of the many other fabulous Thai restaurants in the Kingdom to try the real deal. My version does make a good substitute when trying it at home, and the recipe is as carefree as the Bahraini lifestyle.

SOM TAM with Date Peanut and Lime Dressing
Serves 4

Ingredients

Salad
1 large green papaya(very firm), peeled and shredded
1 large carrot peeled and julienned
100 g green beans or long beans, sliced
100 g cherry tomatoes quartered
50 g spring onion, chopped
50 g coriander leaves, chopped
2 red chilies, diced

Dressing
2 T Bahraini Date Syrup
60 g chopped peanuts
Juice of 2 to 3 small limes
Salt and pepper to taste

Method
Peel papaya and remove seeds from center
Cut papaya in long chunks and send through shredder attachment of food processor. You can also use a julienne peeler, but this will take 20 minutes versus about 2. I find that my Parkinson’s makes chopping and julienning a bit difficult. I try to do it by hand as often as possible in order to utilize my left hand and arm, since any little bit of exercise helps, but shredding a large papaya with a julienne peeler would take me over half an hour, and the cursing and swearing from the kitchen would make anyone think I was also developing a case of Tourette’s Syndrome. So the food processor it is for me! If you don’t have one at home, it is definitely worth the investment. I was fortunate to win one as part of my prize booty from winning Bahrain Master Chef, and along with my immersion blender and copper cookware set I won, it is my most used prize. Thanks Cucina Italiana Restaurant! 🙂

Slice beans and steam for about 1 minute, let cool
Peel and julienne one large carrot. You can also shred this through food processor
De-stem and quarter cherry tomatoes
Chop spring onion and coriander
Dice red chilies
Incorporate ingredients together in a large bowl
Mix in dressing right before serving

For Dressing
Mix chopped peanuts, lime juice and date syrup with a little salt and pepper and incorporate dressing into salad mixture right before serving.

Healthy, refreshing, and simple to make!

Sort:  

What I would do for some warm weather right now! It's a could day here in South Africa! An excellent post with awesome original images! Upvoted and resteemed! Enjoy your Steemit journey!

Yeah it's winter down there for you guys! I'm brand new at Steem. Thanks for the kind encouragement!

Congratulations @kevyd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting perspective. I lived in Sharjah, the UAE for a while and in contrast there was very little interaction between the different communities. Every group kept to themselves. What a shame. Diversity is the spice of life!

Nice post.

Congratulations @kevyd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, I wouldn't manage in that heat! The food looks delicious. :)

it's scorching over here right now for sure. Thanks for your feedback. :)

This is a wonderful travel blog, nearly perfect presentation for my personal reading and enjoyment. The good part is that I know that there is a lot more for you to include in future blogs just from this one area that has always been mysterious to me. I hope that I don't miss out on any of them, I encourage you to continue posting even if you don't get a lot of love every time. Thank you for taking the time to share and allow us to learn something and enjoy new places.

Thank you so much. I'm just getting started on here and excited to contribute more in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67