Tonight's Menu and More! .....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

classic_beef.png

Please do not laugh, I am not posting this as a joke or to tease you into reading my blog post this evening. I've actually been reading several articles here on Steemit in the past two weeks on food. So delicious looking meals & menus. tip-o-the-hat to @allasyummyfood her post here: https://steemit.com/food/@allasyummyfood/how-to-make-perfect-scrambled-eggs has inspired me to purchase an avocado this Friday (Pay Day) for the 1ST Time in My Life and that is saying a lot at 50ish of current age for me.

Tonight though it is "The San Francisco Treat" for me with Beef. Before you think 'Wow Man - Don't Do that' I am no galloping gourmet. I don't eat fast foods (ever - well in the past 3 years) and I stay away, best I can from any form of frozen meals. Lest you judge me to hard, I will say this - there is a cooking preparation method to this process, and my own personal twist to the directions on the box.

Also, a bit of information for people who always "Wondered" what is vermicelli well it is a pasta flour used in India Maida derived from wheat. There you go.

I always use butter (never margarine) 2 tablespoons (cut as directed in the wax wrapper) and follow directions to stir often over medium heat on the range top. Now I vary the directions here:

Where it says "Slowly stir in water and Special Seasonings"

One I stir in the seasoning (in the packet) and let it "Bloom" as I say, for 5 minutes.

(Here's a Crypto Tip) the timer I use is on my computer: http://moonliteco.in/?ref=f25f3dfd2585 it pays a very small amount of LTC - Litecoin through a faucet) Note: This is a referral link for me, so if you use it Thank You - do not however feel obligated. As I said, it pays only a small amount of litecoin each time and in 2 weeks I have only earned .01067525, but is not a scam or filled with malware. I learned about this faucet here on Steemit. [Shameless Plug over - haha]

Two I use 50% Beef Broth and 50% water. Why? Well I think it makes everything Beefier! (That's just me, but I have never been disappointed)

Note: Here's a Budget Tip for us on Steemit who are ....well, on a budget, enough said. I shop at a local Dollar store which affords me many regular 'staples' at far less the the local grocery chains. Ricearoni 2/1 USD, Beef Broth just 1USD, a Parmesan Cheese (small container/shake) 1USD, etc.

Three (this is new and thank you again to Alla @allasyummyfood) I buy one organic carrot and chop it up and add before bringing everything to a boil.

So after it is brought to a boil, I cover it on a separate burner on low for 15 minutes.

Then I just do what it says on the Box: Add Meat to make Rice-A-Roni a Meal! So I cook some hamburger, which I scored at $2 USD per pound (I bought 3 this week) and then I added it to the simmer.

Including, butter & carrot (and parm at the end) this costs $2.75 USD makes 3 meals for me all total @ .92 cents per meal not accounting for stove top electric. (Also, as of recent I began using a dollop of sour cream to top the dish, and give it a smooth contrast heat/cool) Just me, so upvote this post and we can pay for the sour cream - lol!

This is the point where I would like to Add a really sexy Photo Pic - Sorry! Not today. My Phone does not have a camera.

I can add this picture to show the progress of my Crypto-Mining Operations over the past few days:

progress.png

I was going to write more tonight, but I was "doing the dish" while blogging "Real Time" - Blogging, Mining, Faucets and Real Life Thank you to you who have begun to follow me in my first 2 weeks of Steemit, and those who have read &/or upvoted my writings. The encouragement of seeing a new follower here is what made me write today. So thank you new follower guy or gal - You made my day that much more special!

Sort:  

Your effort shows promise.

Joe - Keep on, keeping on with your crypto! I know it's hard when your new. Dude, I have to help you upgrade your home menu. Thank you for your honest words. I hope to post some food content, and this is a good lesson for me on how to start.

Thank you. I'm so nervous here on Steemit about posting. I think I corrected my blog post for spelling errors like 3x. I don't know what I would do with a camera and photos of my cooking. You are a chef?

Awesome post that brought back some good memories looking at that Rice A Roni box... I actually make my own version straight up with rice, spice and what ever is around that needs to be cooked. Quick, healthy, yummy and fast. Upvoted and following you... wishing you great success here with steemit!!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90