The Perfect Way to Cook Oyster Mushrooms!

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)


Quick Announcements

Today is THE LAST DAY to enter the 2018 Garden Planning Competition! Deadline is 8pm EST today (Friday, January 19). Be sure to go and enter — there are some awesome prizes!

Cooking Oyster Mushrooms PERFECTLY

When I first started growing oyster mushrooms, I did NOT know what I was doing. All of my hard work growing and harvesting them was rendered worthless because I didn't know how to cook them. So I figured, why not show Steemit the perfect method to cook them so you actually get the best flavors out of them.

The Secret: Roasting in a Dry Pan

Mushrooms (like most organisms) are mostly water. That means we need to get some of this water out before we add any fats like butter to the pan. If we don't, the mushrooms won't soak up any of that delicious butter and get nice and brown and crispy for us.

What I do is put my sliced oyster mushrooms in a dry pan on low heat for 5-7 minutes until I get a little bit of browning and they've evaporated some moisture

Now: BUTTER TIME

Now we can add the butter. I use unsalted butter because I prefer to season with salt and pepper after cooking. This part is simple: 5-7m until golden and crispy, making sure not to burn any of the edges.

Seasoning

You want to let the flavors of the oyster mushroom shine through. That means a pinch of salt and a nice dose of pepper...and that's it.

Enjoy!

I'm always looking for ways to improve my recipes and techniques, so if you have any oyster mushroom cooking tips, please let me know in a comment below!

Thanks For Reading!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png

Kevin


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oyster mushrooms are great mushrooms! One of my favorites. I've given growing kits to my dad, and he's been successful with them. But I still forage my oyster mushrooms, lol. A dry saute, like you are using, works for a lot of mushrooms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79