How to make a Vegan Squashed Bagel with Mushroom & Cabbage Sandwich

in #cooking7 years ago

Warning: This post contains multiple large images.

I originally made this to enter the #steemitsandwichcontest, but then I realized I fucking forgot to take a picture with steemit in it, to authenticate it, after I wrote the post. Oh fucking well. I fucking hate that trend on here anyway. I think it's stupid, and it looks stupid. So, rather than cheat, and photoshop one in just to pass the stupid rules, I'm just posting it as a regular entry. Enjoy.

I'd like to make a note that not only is this vegan, but it's low sodium as well.

20180104_130536.jpg

I normally make something similar to this occasionally, with just spinach, onions, and mushrooms. But I don't have spinach today. What I do have is cabbage, onions, mushrooms, squash, and some miniature bell peppers that I should use before they go bad.

Clean off your work space.

First thing's first! Clean everything off the counter that you would be embarrassed for the internet to see. Remember, the internet is like your grandma, you have to clean up before she comes over, but you can go right back to being messy after she leaves. Unlike with your grandma though, the internet only sees what you want it to see, for now. So you can leave your room messy, and even that counter that's not going to be in the shot.

20180104_115006.jpg

You might wanna spray that sticky spot with something, and then after it still won't come up, use some scouring powder.

Also be sure to break at least one thing!

If you aren't going to be showing the internet, feel free to only clean off enough space for the cutting board, and the area around where the skillet is going to be heated up.

If you are going to be showing the internet though, be sure to only put back what you think is presentable. The internet doesn't need to see all your junk, or know that you have a deep fryer that you use to make home made super fat dope french fries, but doesn't exactly look nice. Be sure to take plenty of pictures if you are posting to the internet though. Pretend they're selfies or something. Only post like a few out of the hundreds you took though, just like with selfies.
20180104_115731.jpg
There! All better?

Make yourself a drink!

Nothing better than a nice cold iced coffee on a freezing cold day.
20180104_121110_rotated.jpg
Okay, so iced coffee on a cold day might just be my thing, but having something to sip on while you're cooking is a good idea.

Get out your cutting board and knife!

Get a cutting board out. I suggest using one made out of real wood. It's impossible to clean a plastic cutting board once it has a few cuts in it. Wood is naturally anti-bacterial as well.

20180104_121500.jpg

Be sure to pick out a knife with a decently sharp edge. It also helps if you have an unnatural attachment to it for some reason.

Get out your veggies!

It's important that you have everything out and ready before you start heating up your pan.

20180104_121737.jpg

Prep your pan!

I personally suggest using a large iron skillet. It's like a non-stick pan, but it doesn't leave disgusting flakes of crap in your food, which then ends up in your digestive tract.

20180104_122429.jpg

You should oil your pan. I personally use a pastry brush to make sure I don't use too much oil, but you can also use a pump up sprayer. I used to use one of those, and it's very convienent. Just don't inhale. Or you can do it the old fashion way, and pour it directly into your arteries the pan.

After you are done oiling the pan, turn your stove on. I personally put mine at around 7:30 if it were a clock face, a bit above medium low I think.

Cut off a chunk of cabbage

We're only making one sandwich today. There's no reason to cook the entire cabbage. But if you wanna make a whole load of them for your family, I'm sure they'll love them!

20180104_122844.jpg

Don't worry if you cut off a bit too much, we're gonna just put that on the side to eat with your sandwich.

Chop up the cabbage.

Cut it into thin strips. I suggest not making them too long, but that is a personal preference. You can even make them into a lot larger chunks, but it will take longer to cook.

20180104_123027.jpg

Put the cabbage in the pan.

Don't worry if the pan isn't hot enough yet. It will get there.

20180104_123224.jpg

It will cook a lot faster if you have a lid. I use a lid from another pan that is about the same size, and it fits well enough that it keeps in most of the heat.

Make sure you open it up and stir it occasionally with a spatula, but not too much.

Cut off the ends of your yellow squash.

These should go in the compost.
20180104_123318.jpg
Don't have a compost? Get one.

Cut up the squash.

You should cut the squash into slices that aren't quite thin, but aren't think either. Too thick is better than too thin though, as they'll just take a bit longer to cook, and bit a bit harder to eat in the sandwich, while too thin means they'll fall apart.

20180104_123608.jpg

Put the squash in.

By this time, you likely have to stir the cabbage. Just stir it when you put the squash in.
20180104_123759.jpg
Be sure to be gentle with the squash. You want to keep the pieces intact.

Choose how many peppers you want!

Okay, this isn't a real step. But choosing how much you want of every ingredient is important! If you use more peppers it has a completely different taste.
20180104_123916.jpg
I went with 3 initially, but seeing it chopped up, I decided to add another.

Chop the peppers.

You don't have to rush on this. You want the squash to cook a bit. That doesn't mean walk away though.
20180104_124219.jpg
I chose to cut my peppers into small pieces, so they would mix easily in with the rest of the food. You could also choose to use hot peppers, for a bit more kick!

Put the peppers in.

As I said, the squash should be cooked a little, but not anywhere near done yet.
20180104_124344.jpg

Chop the mushrooms

I chopped mine in somewhat thin slices, but not too thin, so they'd cook faster.
20180104_124744_rotated.jpg
You don't want to add them until the rest is almost done cooking though, as they cook pretty quickly.

Add the mushrooms

As you can see from the image, the rest of the food is getting really close to being done.
20180104_124959.jpg
I've been stirring it occasionally, as well as every time I add something.

Slice your bagel in half.

Thankfully these ones came sliced most of the way through, as I could never get it this even or straight.
20180104_125213.jpg

Coat the bagel in oil.

That's right, we're frying it. You can also toast it, but for this purpose, I like it better to just fry it in the pan.

20180104_125400.jpg

Move over veggies! There's a bagel coming in!

Move the veggies over, and put the bagel on one side.
20180104_125633.jpg
You'll wanna be extra careful with stirring the veggies from now on, so as not to get your bagel covered in them.
You'll also want to check the bagel a few times while it's cooking, and possibly turn it.

Take the bagel out.

When it's cooked enough for your liking, take it out of the pan, and put it on a plate.
20180104_130255.jpg

Cover the bagel in veggies!

You'll want to carefully scoop out the veggies.
20180104_130443.jpg
I chose to put the squash on top, but you could also put them on the bottom. You'll likely want to somewhat separate them though, so they don't go everywhere.

Choose your condiments!

I personally chose ketchup and spicy mustard. You can choose whatever you want though.

20180104_130646.jpg

20180104_130722.jpg

20180104_130752.jpg

Put the rest of the veggies on the side.

20180104_130942.jpg

Eat it!

20180104_131134.jpg
I chose to eat mine with a bit of soy sauce. If you don't wanna do that, you may or may not want to add a little bit of salt, as I didn't while cooking it. It's perfectly good without it though as well.

All photos were taken by me, with my potato phone. Many veggies were harmed, during the making of this post.

If you like it, consider upvoting, resteeming, and leaving a comment below!

And go checkout my blog!

Sort:  

This was entertaining to read. I like the analogy that the internet is like grandma visiting; gotta clean up before she sees it haha

Looks delicious! Cabbage is one of the very few vegetables that I don't like. Do you suggest any substitution for it?

Yeah, I usually make it with just sauteed spinach, onions, and mushrooms. Except when you do it that way, you have to cut the onion first, let it caramelize a bit, then add the spinach, cut the mushrooms, and add them when the size of the spinach as reduced a bit.

You can also do it with various other greens. Kale might take a bit longer, but would be alright. I've done that before.

Mustard greens would be more of a spicy flavor.

Only green I can think of that I wouldn't suggest it with is collard greens. Mainly because they are so tough.

Super helpful. Thanks!

This looks like a real yummy treat @geekpowered

Looks good dude, didn't realize you were vegan :) When i get into cooking videos i'll have to clean my place properly as well, that is not gonna be a joy!

Not vegan. It was supposed to be a contest, and a vegan sandwich was the theme. But I fucked up and forgot the stupid picture with a sign as proof I did it. So I just did it as a cooking instructional post.

And didn't you read the post, you only have to clean what's in the camera angle. :P So that's one counter, and the stove. Then avoid anything else in the shot.

Yeah good point. Same with cleaning everything else really xD Need to buy a new memory card though, right now i can only do one clip at a time

Look up places that accept crypt, and buy one with some earnings.

That's a good idea actually. I sometimes forget how much the earnings are actually worth in "real" money

That looks delicioussssss dude!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:55:16
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Um... Okay... I didn't know I was entering a contest. I thought it was just a tag. But that's cool I guess. I guess I'll go checkout the stuff about these contests and stuff.

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is my kind of sandwich. Too bad you didn't enter it into the SteemitSandwichContest.

They got a dumb requirement for a sign with the sandwich, and I forgot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66