The Carrot Casserole you might want to try out next Christmas. (Food)

in #cooking7 years ago

(Now I know Christmas is nowhere near yet, but I still wanted to share this one...;)

I was browsing my old photos on Flickr, and found this:

Carrot Casserole in oven
I can already taste it. Can't wait for next Christmas!

Carrot casserole

  • 1 ½ kg carrots
  • 1 dl milk
  • ½ dl cream
  • 1 egg
  • 2 ts aniseed
  • ½ ts nutmeg
  • 1 ts cinnamon
  • 1 tbs brown sugar
  • 50 g butter
  • 1 ts salt
  • ½ dl breadcrumbs

Peel the carrots and boil them for about 40 minutes.

Pour the water away and smash the carrots. Mix in the butter, salt, sugar and the spices. Separately mix milk, cream and the egg, and add them to the carrots.

Pour the resulting mixture in to a buttered casserole mold. Even the surface and sprinkle the surface with the breadcrumbs and some butter.

Bake in the oven at 180 ℃ for about an hour.


My wife makes this every Christmas and we all love it immensely. Anyway, if you cook it for next christmas, I'd like to see how you liked it. I bet Vera would be interested to know too. :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: A sketching tool. (89/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


This one is posted as !originalworks

Sort:  

I wil give this a try. Tnx for the recipe.

Very nice dish to make, and it's a vegetarian recipe too! I think the baking time may be a bit too long because carrots have to be cooked first. 1dl milk means?! Is it one quarter milk or one liter milk? Please tell, I am not a good cook! Rather hopeless, but I want to try new recipe.

Many thanks.
Cheers.

Vera told me that if you don't want to bake it for all the 40 minutes, you can always shorten the time if you think it will burn or overcook. So we got a bit puzzled about the "about an hour", and where it came from. There's no clear answer, so we amended the recipe to what it should originally have had said: "40 to 60 minutes".

To answer your second question, "dl" means one desiliter; a one tenth of a liter. In imperial scale that would be 2/5 cup.

Even from the photo alone, it looks delicious. I would love to try it out. I will see how i can follow the recipe.

A great recipe and useful, because a lot of vitamins. Just the carrots are now ripe and can easily be cooked. Thank you @gamer00

Oh, nice and juicy image. I can smell it from here. I hope u can invite me next time to taste. Nice one. Upvoted.

hey good to see you here

This looks simple enough to make. I should give it a trial, moreso the fact that the post is coming from @gamer00 is a great inspiration.

Thank you! You can consider me flattered. ;)

thanks for the recipe i hope i can try it before Christmas

i hope someone cook it for me too :)

delicious it is going to be :)

I didn't knew you were cook also haha

Well my wife is the magician when it comes to cooking. I just dabble. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36