When supper plans don't quite work as planned

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Tonight was one when I literally had to work with what I had - in the fridge and in my head. My usually well-planned weekly menu was not going according to plan. Partly my fault, partly not.

When I checked out the pantry after a long, but happily productive day in the office, this is what I had to work with: butternut, mushrooms, some lovely mozzarella, cauliflower and two baby potatoes. There were also the makings of salad, garlic, garden herbs and a single masher of bacon.

Anyone who knows me, my answer to most challenges is to roast or sauté. Make of that what you will! Anyhow, we ended up with cumin-roasted cauliflower and a salad that a companied a roasted butternut round, topped with sautéed mushrooms and garlic, on to which I sprinkled fresh origanum with some red onion rings before topping that with a goodly dollop of grated mozzarella and bacon (or not - for the veggies). All that went under the grill for about twenty minutes, during which time I made a salad. The end result?

Palatable enough to be sharing here!

#cooking #steemitbloggers #teamsouthafrica #share2steem #ulog #roastedvegetables #mozzarella

Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa
Photo: Selma

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn

Set it up here

Let me help you - for blog posts and any writing in English
Rates depend on the depth of edit required
DM me on Discord @fionasfavourites#1035
More about why I am offering this service here

Join us @steemitbloggers

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Sometimes making food from an pantry that ran out you invent the most unusual crazy dishes to just put something on the table, looks good a nourishing @fionasfavourites

#steemitbloggers

Thanks very much, Joan, and for stopping by!

Congratulations! Your @share2steem post has been featured in our weekly curation showcase which you can check out at the link below!

Keep up the AWESOME posts!!

https://steemit.com/share2steem/@jaynie/the-official-share2steem-weekly-curation-showcase-no-3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66899.66
ETH 3464.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80