Identifying Vintage Cast Iron Cookware

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

04_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

Griswold #7 Large Block EPU with HR
Learning how to identify cast cast iron is an important part of collecting. Knowing your logos will help you know when to spend the money, or when to walk away. When I first started collecting, all I looked for was the Griswold name, not knowing that different logos are indicative of when a piece was made, and it's value.

01_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

On a Griswold, 'EPU' stands for Erie, PA, USA, which was where it was made. 'HR' stands for heat ring. Where the difficulty arises with identifying vintage cast iron is with pieces with no logos. Most can be identified, but then it's a question of knowing your handles, skillet shapes, pour spouts, and other markings that can be used to identify a piece.

05_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

If you want to get into collecting, learning how to identify is a must. A great and trusted resource for this is castironcollector.com.

02_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

03_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

07_griswold_7_lbepu_hr.jpg

Sort:  

Good info you shared here @culinaryfanatic thanks fo sharing and addition to my knowledge 🏦 bank 😎

Thanks for taking time to read this. Many more like this coming.

Ok and keep it coming....Do find time to check my blog posts

You have an interesting feed. Following.

Thanks again and updated today

Where do you buy that, at Wally World. Just kidding. That is a nicely cured skillet. I use my cast iron pan almost every day. Only draw back might be the weight.

Most of my vintage CI was purchased at antique stores. They are pretty easy to find. Griswold skillets are pretty light. A modern manufacturer, Field Company, makes the closest thing to a Griswold, and they are reasonably priced.

That's where I got mine and yes the cost was very reasonable. I also like the dutch oven, but I use the skillet most. I guess with CI you'll likely never have to buy another one because I don't think they wear out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.57
ETH 3030.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26