Comfort Food Is Good For The Soul - Schnitzel Is Not A Swear Word!

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

 

Chicken Schnitzel, Garlicky Beans and Pan Fried Potatoes


 


Some nights you just need comfort food. Simple, flavourful home cooking that reminds you of childhood and carefree days. When I was a kid my friend's Mom made schnitzel and I loved it! Mind you, at the time I didn't much care for the cabbage and dough noodles that went with it but I loved being invited to dinner at her house.

Many years later I learned to make schnitzel for my kids. It's really very easy to make and can be used in so many ways. If you want Italian top it with marinara and parmesan. Use your creativity! I enjoy it topped with sauteed mushrooms, steamed spinach, a pinch of nutmeg and a squeeze of lemon juice. YUM!

To make my chicken schnitzel you will need:

2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
1 cup flour
1 to 2 cups bread crumbs
2 eggs
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp thyme or oregano
2 T butter
2 T oil, I use olive oil

First prepare to coat the chicken. Put your flour on a dinner plate and the bread crumbs on another plate. Mix the spices with either the flour or the bread crumbs. Crack the two eggs into a pie plate and beat them roughly. I like to set up my plates close to the stove with the flour to the right, eggs in the middle and bread crumbs on the left. This makes it easy to get the chicken in the pan with the least amount of mess.

I store my chicken breasts in ziplock bags, 1 per bag, because I typically only cook for two people. (Yes I know, I always advocate recycling but I never re-use ziplock bags.) I like to leave my chicken in the ziplock and pound on it with my tenderizer but you could use two pieces of plastic wrap. Pound that chicken until it's about a half inch thick.

You will have noticed the pieces look HUGE now. I find that I only have room for one schnitzel in the pan at a time so I preheat my oven to about 200 F so I can keep them hot.

This is when I like to leave the chicken to rest and move onto prepping my sides. Tonight we are having simple Pan Fried Potatoes.


This traditional side would normally be made with bacon and onions. I'm out of bacon and my husband doesn't care for onions but it's really good so if you have the time add them. Use the butter and oil to fry the potatoes. Cover them and cook for about 30 minutes on medium heat, turning half way through. When they are done, using a slotted spoon, put them in a large oven proof dish and keep them hot in the oven. Leave the pan on the heat for your schnitzel.

Let's move onto making the schnitzel. Quickly but carefully place the chicken flat on the flour, making sure to unfold any parts that have curled up. You want to make sure the entire surface is coated in flour. Turn it over and coat the second side. With a fork or your fingers pick it up and gently give it a shake to remove excess flour and place it in the eggs being careful to again coat the entire surface. Turn it over to coat the other side and gently shake to remove excess. Now... yes, you guessed it, place the chicken in the bread crumbs making sure to coat the entire surface. Turn it over and don't be afraid to sprinkle bread crumbs into all the cracks and crevices. Use your hands and make sure it's all coated.


Place the chicken into the hot frying pan and leave it alone for 4 to 5 minutes. Carefully turn it over and cook for another 4 or 5 minutes, or until it's done. If you gently push on the surface with your finger it should feel springy not squishy when it's done. Carefully remove the schnitzel from the frying pan, place it in the oven with your potatoes. Now bread the next piece and fry it.

I usually cook my vegetables during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Tonight we are making Garlicky Green Beans. (Sorry sis...) So yummy and easy! Put about a half inch of water in the bottom of a small pot. Add the quantity of fresh or good quality frozen green beans that suit your appetite. Press one clove of garlic on top. I'm a garlic hound and I can tell you one clove is plenty! Then add about 1 tsp of butter, a pinch of salt, cover and put on medium heat. Keep an eye on the pot and when it starts to boil turn down to med/low heat, cover and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.


That's all there is to it! Plate up and enjoy.

Don't feel too guilty about the fat content. You may have noticed that the entire meal was cooked using the same butter and oil. After I was finished cooking there was about two tablespoons of it left in the pan. I probably wouldn't eat this meal every night but once or twice a month makes it guilt free to me!


Until next time friends...



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artemisnorth.com/comfort-food-is-good-for-the-soul-schnitzel-is-not-a-swear-word/

Sort:  

Oh goodness, that looks delicious. Schnitzel is one of my favorites. I'll definitely give this a try. Pulverize the chicken and bread it. Hmm I think I'll try it with thigh meat? Maybe that would be too fatty though hmmm

I don't think it would. Schnitzle is tradionally made with veal or pork. It could be good.

Posted using Partiko Android

you were doing awesome until you got to the ... ugh .. green beans ... why spoil a great dish.. why oh why ?

I'm just an ass that way!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, man that looks good. I mean really, really good.

I am on an extreme low carb diet, so flour and bread crumbs is out. But that looks so good that I think I need to try almond flour and perhaps Quinoa seeds. I think if I give the Quinoa a ride through the coffee grinder I might just make it.

Thanks for a great looking recipe. I'd call that chicken fried, but by whatever name I really need some. Thank you!

I'd be interested to see how that turns out!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I have schnitzled for the low carb people

I used almond flour and quinoa. I think the almond flower browns better than coconut flour, my other alternative. I ground the quinoa in my coffee grinder (and got a nice clean coffee grinder) to a state between bread crumbs and flour. Otherwise, I was pretty faithful to your recipe.

The result was good. It's not the same, but pleasant none the less. Presentation was just fine. It browned up almost like your pictures.

Thanks again for a great looking recipe that made me look for a substitute I can eat.

Thanks for letting me know! My daughter has gone liw carb and I will definitely have to make this for her!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for letting me know! My daughter has gone liw carb and I will definitely have to make this for her!

Posted using Partiko Android

Mmmmm... comfort food for sure! Looks delicious!

That looks SO good, Artemis. Made me hungry!

Have a restaurant open, I think I'll be one of your redgulars at the venue. This is love and art here - can't miss it!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 283 (10/16/18)

Your photo made me drool! Love simple, home-cooked meals like this! They're the best! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65