Our traditional habits - cook together :) Borscht with dumplings.

in #cook6 years ago

Last week my husbands parents came to Panama. We can enjoy their presence so well. I am Polish girl :)) so we have our traditional habits. Sometimes, despite the fact that we talk sooo loud, Oh !!! come on we do not argue;))

We sometimes cook together.

The great soup that we cooked with parents (@ gregbit, @ edekadam) was borscht with dumplings.


IMG_6103.JPG


The specialty of this soup were dried mushrooms brought by parents. Vacuum packed, which previously dad collected from our wonderful forests.


Borscht with dumplings.

Diced beetroots are put into the water, added elements of herbs, spices.

Then the mushrooms are best wet all night, I'm talking about dried here.

Then we cook the mushrooms with onion and salt.

Then grind finely on a meat grinder. Of course, we add salt and spices (our Polish :))

IMG_6074.JPG

Next, we prepare the dough, which we then cut in the shape of the rings, put on stuffing with mushrooms, we cover it;)

IMG_6077.JPG


IMG_6070.JPG


IMG_6072.JPG


IMG_6073.JPG


IMG_6082.JPG

Throw the dumplings in hot water for a few minutes into a big pot until they float.

IMG_6108.JPG

Serve with borscht.

IMG_6104.JPG


dumplings in polish language "uszka" and it means Ears :))))

We will need :
from the given proportions, about 100 ears will come out

on the cake :
250 g of wheat flour (I used it in Poznań)
100 ml of lukewarm water
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon of oil
pinch of salt

for stuffing:
60 g of dried mushrooms
40 g of stale bread
1 onion (about 50 g)
1 tablespoon of butter
salt pepper

In my opinion very common recipe and I would like to share with you. In my family we did the same way ;)))

Preparation :

First, I prepare stuffing:
Mushrooms rinse under running cold water, then put them in a bowl and pour cold water.
I leave the soaked mushrooms for a few hours - it is best to soak mushrooms in the evening and leave them overnight or soak before leaving for work.
After a few hours :
Mushrooms together with the water in which they soaked I pour into the pot and cook. I cook mushrooms from the moment of boiling for 1 hour, on low heat under the cover (the lid should be opened gently because they can boil over :)
I strain the cooked mushrooms on the sieve and leave to drain.
I cut the onion into cubes, sliced ​​in butter, so that it will glisten.
I pour the bun with cold water in a bowl and let it soak for a few minutes. Then I print it carefully from the water.

The final preparation of the stuffing for "uszka":
Now, the ingredients prepared in this way are ground in a meat grinder.
Ground the ground ingredients with pepper (two large pinches) with salt (one pinch) and mix very thoroughly - the stuffing is ready.

Preparation of the dough for uszka with mushrooms:
I give to the bowl all ingredients for the dough: flour, water, salt, egg yolk, oil and mix with a spoon, when the ingredients are pre-mixed, I will knead the dough with my hand.
I knead the dough in a bowl, but it can be put on the top and kneaded on the counter, I knead the dough for a few minutes (2-3 minutes).
I put the prepared dough into a bowl, cover with a cloth and let it rest for about 30 minutes to rest.
The final preparation of ears with mushrooms:
I put the dough on the top lightly sprinkled with flour and roll it out to a thickness of about 1-2 mm (it should be rolled as far as possible).
I divide the rolled dough using a small round piece.
Now I take a circle of dough to my hand and I put a little stuffing on it (about 1/2 teaspoon) and fold it. They look like little pigs ears ;)))
Cooking ears with mushrooms:
I put the shaped ears into the boiling slightly salted water with the addition of one tablespoon of oil.
And I cook for about 3 minutes to boil again (when you put more water in the water, it stops boiling).
Cooked ears put on trays (plates) to cool down, then translate into a bowl (thanks to this will not stick to each other).
Uszka with mushrooms are ready now, just boil the red borscht and eat.





I hope you have enjoyed !!!

Thank you for visiting and support my work. My heart is deeply appreciate .

@margaretwise



Copyright © 2017 by margaretwise , All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

mouth is watering over here...looks amazing!

Thank you my dear friend. I wish I could share with you :))

I love beetroot and I love cooking something that I call borscht because its vegetables with beetroot hotpot. That's a great idea to add the dumplings!

Thank you. I wish I could share with you ;)))

So yummy and delicious post i appreciate your post

Thank you so much :))

borscht with dumplings its so interesting i love it wonderful post by you

Thank you so much my dear :))

The process looks super amazing to try :)
thanks for sharing

Thank you I am so happy you like it ;))

Very nice my dear friend

Thank you so much my friend :))

your traditional food looking..........the soup,,the other kind of food.....looking so delicious ....thanks for share recipe ......i will try it......

Thank you so much :))) Let me know when you will make it ;))

Looks so beautiful and amazing thanks for sharing this post in details :)

Thank you so much I wish I could share with you some soup ;))) Lot's of love

Really this food is very tasty. I like this food.

Margaret, last week I had “ zurek or sureck” soup.
It was with a lot meat in and I did like it also Very much.
Its complete different as we do eat, but that makes it Interesting.
Smacznego 😊

Żurek is soooo delicious. Did you have an egg and some ham in it ??? I like to taste a different type of food to understand people kitchen and traditions. I shared mine recipe because that particular one we were doing together with my parents-in -law ;))

Yes, there was a half boiled egg in the soup. Ham and other meat. It was served in bread.
It was delicious !

Oh yes, and bread. Fantastic. Traditional I am jealous:-))) hugs. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42