Controversial Topics Art Contest Entry by @sift666

in #controversy-art7 years ago (edited)

Sooner or later I'm going to start WW3 by doing a post about veganism. But today I need to get my entry in for the Controversial Topics Art Contest.

I actually won the last one which was awesome, but I suspect this one will be a bit more hard fought, and I'm keen to check out the other entries..

This was originally a photo I took of a skull, which I have played around with in Photoshop quite a bit.

I turned it into a vegan picture because sometimes I get really tired of having pushy vegans trying to ram their diet down everyone's throats. Great if it works for them but it certainly doesn't work for everyone.

As a WAPF chapter with a business selling geletin, bone broth, raw milk, and cod liver oil we cop a bit of flak from vegans online. Thankfully not much in person because vegans are very rare in NZ and Kiwis are not as likely to bend down and lick their boots as Americans, so they usually put a sock in it.

You can probably tell I've had a guts-full of vegans :)

The Contest Rules

https://steemit.com/art/@in2itiveart/controversial-topics-art-contest-round2-repost-ends-in-4-days-january-18

Submit Art about Controversial Topics - in the news, or underground media, such as MK Ultra & Satanic Ritual Abuse, Chemtrails, Water Flouridation, GMOs, The Occult. #pizzagate, The New World Order, False Flags, Colony Collapse of Bees, The Environment, The 2nd Amendment, Attack on Free Speech, Solipsism, etc.
Personal Experience is Encouranged!
Please include a short paragraph describing the visual: Title, size, media and why you were inspired to create the artwork.

  1. Upvote, and Resteem this POST
  2. Make the first tag of your submission #Controversy-ART
  3. Post a link to your Submission in the comments of this Post
  4. Enter as many pieces as you wish, separately following contest rules to a T.
  5. Please include a short paragraph describing the visual: Title, size, media and why you were inspired to create the artwork.
  6. You need not be an artist to enter this contest!
    No CONTROVERSIAL topic is Taboo, however mainstream accepted topics will be disregarded. This is NOT a platform for erotica.

WWW.SIFT.CO.NZ


Sort:  

I am glad to be among the few vegans you don't consider to be annoying. Haha! Of course, I'm not pushy about my diet, so that helps. It works for me in a number of ways, but I certainly don't expect everyone else to follow it. It's a personal thing.

I really just wanted to drop in and say hello. I haven't logged onto Steemit in ages, but I read it most days. The things I've been seeing going on here have turned me off writing here, for the most part. Flag wars, arguments about the rewards pool, people taking it upon themselves to be the "sheriff" of the place, and just some really generally hateful things being said between Steemians, some of which ends up on the trending page for newbies to see....it's a real turn-off. That's not how it was in August 2016 when I first joined this site. It seems like the place is going downhill. It's like this is now the slums, when it was once a nice neighborhood. I don't like it.

I still use the site as a place to showcase writing clips for potential clients. Since so much of what I do is ghostwriting, it is nice to have some clips online under my own name I can direct people to if they are considering hiring me. Steemit is good for that.

I miss talking to you and @kiwideb and others, but it has gotten pretty unpleasant around here. It's hard to be as enthusiastic about the site as I once was. What are your thoughts on the topic (I know you have some)?

I know exactly what you mean - I hate flagging.

But the upside to all this is unlike back in 2016 there is real money to be made here - basically look at each post payout and multiply it by about four.

Every time the price of Steem goes up we all get richer.

It used to be said that a whale was somebody with a wallet over $100 000 - and that used to be unimaginable - now Deb and I added together just scrape in as a single whale on a good day - 100k from blogging for 18 months is really quite something - so I just ignore all the flagging wars which I never usually notice anyway

Great to see you back, and when I say vegan I don't mean you :)

Check what I can do to your comment now!

That's pretty cool. I powered down a while ago, but maybe it's time to power back up. Things change quickly around here if you're away too long, apparently. ;)

If Steem keeps going up we will soon have so much money to vote with we will be flinging it about all over the place!

Hiya - good to see you! I just ignore all that stuff. I don't follow people who get into it, so it rarely comes up on my feed and I just carry on with my head in the sand. There is something I wanted to ask you, but will do it in SteemitChat.

I noticed it when I started coming on here to look for analyses of certain crypto coins, and apparently there is this big war between various crypto analysts, and it was super off-putting. Then, I went to the main page, and the top trending posts were about that flag war and others. Again, off-putting, and made me wary of posting on Steemit again. After I read your lovely responses in chat, I looked at my own feed of the people I actually follow, and it was much more pleasant, with things I actually enjoyed reading. I do think the trending page could be a turn-off for new people. Building your feed with what you want to read seems to be key to an enjoyable experience here.

Yes I avoid the trending page like the plague!

Yes, absolutely you have to create your own experience here, and finding the right people to follow is key. Looking forward to seeing your books coming up in my feed.

you actually think I am going to judge your art based on that fact that you are paleo and I am vegan- I am sorry you feel that way. I have the ability to practice live and let live.

Cool - don't mind me I'm just kidding around!

Ahaha! Great rendition! I think it's quite on point for some vegans out there. By some, I think a half of them qualify. I don't why it is, but many vegans I know come across as authoritarians when it comes to food. Your art evokes that 1984 vibe that they usually portray. Good luck with the contest! Fingers crossed you pull off the rare two-in-a-row!

Do you mean 84 as in George Orwell or as in Boy George?

I guess both Orwell and Boy George could apply!

Veganism was never my thing but many people I've seen in my life who were significant to me insisted me greatly to be like them like a vegan and so I would be able to be more healthy and powerful appearently as they said.

Well I couldn't agree not because I'm not a vegetarian but we all need not vegetarian meals to make ourselves more healthy or like give our body the proper nutritious diet than veganism can give.

Many people might vegans might argue with me but it's pointless as I think bcz you choose what you should eat bcz everyone has their choice and will.

I think veganism is fashion of the month and it's getting pumped on Steemit right now - but I'm mostly holding back on posting about it because although we have a truck load of research, I don't want to try to tell people what to eat. That's so vegan..

Oh but if all veggies tasted like bacon we would be healthier lol ;)

Congratulations for winning the previous arts contest. Another great entry from yours which is possible to win again in this contest.

You have the artistic skills, God given talent to you I'm glad that you used it to inspire others. I'm glad to see your talent here in Steemit platform.

Keep up the great job, I found you very interesting because of your quality content. You are one of Steemians who play a big contribution to this community.

Have a great day ahead and enjoy the rest of your day. Oh! By the way I'm hitting the upvote and follow button @sift666

Really ! really! Your art is awesome. appreciate your art.. thanks

hahaha perfect combination of my fav subjects.
Art, controversy and vegans.

Love the melty skull. Made me smile. And it's pretty too. Here's hoping you win :D

Kudos

LOL - the lady who is running and judging the contest is trying to go vegan and maybe I'm sort of winding her up :)

Isn't our food grown in poop ?

heheheh
troll face.jpg

Tag me in that post ;)

They always give me a hard time !

Oh but it's ok they eat animals crackers.
Any diet can be done right or wrong

Thank god we are omnivore or there would be a lot of dead humans (survival)

When breast milk becomes V8 juice I might think different ;)

@sift666

Remember trees can kill animals and we know they love to hug trees
#acacia

Make sure if you are vegan you do not eat artificial vanilla IMG_6245.JPG

I'm always thinking and questioning ;)

What about cellulase?

Aside from ruminants, most animals (including humans) do not produce cellulase in their bodies and can only partially break down cellulose through fermentation, limiting their ability to use energy in fibrous plant material.

What animals closer resemble humans ?

Omnivore
That is why they are used in studies :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62