GIRL, CANDLE, WHALE contest entry #contestcoin

in #contestcoin6 years ago (edited)

I heard about the #contestcoin art contest: one where you have to do an illustration, featuring 3 concepts: girl, candle, whale. The idea is brilliant. Thanks @adelepazani

But I thought: Hm, I love painting women, candles I can do.. okay... but whales?
Then, I read that all art forms can be submitted, including, digital art. I've always wanted to do a cross-medium art, where I put together my tangible art forms with my skills in digital drawing and raster graphics manipulation.

I'm using Ugee drawing tablet and Photoshop for the candle and the whale, but for the girl I chose my favourite good old moon lady in oil pastel, you can see how I created her in this article.

So this happened:

girl-candle-whale-chalenge.jpg
I really enjoyed working on it, even though I felt clumsy with my digital drawing skills - it's a whole lot of different world from what you can create with a brush and paint on paper. Anyway, the magic of it is mesmerizing.

She looks so magical now, like from a myth. As if there was a tale about her, told for centuries, that she is the one who keeps all the fauna of the sea alive. As long as her candle shines, the whale swims, the water moves, the sun illuminates the surface of the water. Also, I feel like this picture shows a life cycle: the water, its ebb and flow, and the ​whale, throwing loops in and out of the ​water, again and again.

If you want to participate, you can do that until Monday, the 5th!

Full contest rules are here!

Go check out all the entries, they are really awesome!

Thanks!

Sort:  

your work and your words was great .. <3
i hope to see you again in the next week's contest also

Thank you! ❤
Lovely! Can't wait to hear all about it!

I love it, really serene. Oh this is til monday, maybe I will see if I can sneak this contest into my contest schedule because I follow and really like @adelepazani Really good job and good luck!

Thanks a lot!
Maybe you can! There's still time! 😊
I saw your works, and I like your style! I'm going to follow you, and I wish you luck in all contests!

P.S. I'm also quite chatty in the comments, and I love to connect with people on this platform :)

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

It's indeed quite magical, especially your painted moon lady. What a great way to make use of several techniques, including your digital drawing skills.
Thank you for sharing this !

Ah, thanks a lot! I appreciate your comment!

Woooow. I'm speechless. Your arts are so cool.
I just started steemit yesterday. I also draw too. Hope you have time to visit mine

Thanks so much! I will check you out! :)

Cool, you should have won @art.life.
Check out my latest post (if you want), it has original drawings by me: "Shake the winter-blues with 5-htp, a natural (legal) mood booster!"

Aww, thanks! :)
Nice, you're explaining with your illustrations - the thing I'm planning to do. Will read it!

Ha ha, yeah right, thanks...

Quite lovely. I love how the water looks, almost like a quicksilver.
Also hi fellow latvians! :)

Hey! Thanks a lot! :)
Nice to meet some 🇱🇻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66