You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contest Alerts: Active Contest List on 22nd June 2024

in #contestalertslast month (edited)

Our journey got off to a rather sudden start...

Carolina received a phone call while we were at Zulema's party.

She stepped outside to take the call but I could see through the window that she was getting quite animated.

When she returned she just exclaimed "We're going now", hurriedly said goodbye to her colleagues, and then almost dragged me to the car park.

The party was only just getting going but I didn't mind leaving early as there are only so many Zebra Sandwiches you can eat, and only so many times you can sing Eye of the Tiger...

zebra-sandwiches.jpg

I offered to drive as Carolina really didn't seem to be in a good place.

Whoever that call was from and whatever it was about she clearly didn't want to talk about it.

In fact she just sat in silence for two hours.

Then suddenly as we entered some small town in the middle of Texas she half screamed and half cried "Stop here. Stop now. I need to get a bunch of stuff".

We stopped.

We went shopping.

We bought 3 boxes of Speer Gold Dot 9mm ammo.

Then we bought 3 cans of Rust-Oleum 2x Ultra Cover Spray Paint - they only had Candy Pink, Granite and Orange.

It was still only around 5pm and we could have gone on further but Carolina said we had to stop as she needed to fix the van.

We found an RV park on the edge of town where we are parked up now. It is a bit Flintstone like and rather ruff in places but it is only $30 for the night.

Carolina has started work on the van...


This is not how I thought our road trip would go.

It is getting weirder by the minute.

Where are we and what is going on?



UPDATE @ June 23rd, 9.36pm

Yesterday was weird, today was even weirder...

Carolina's phone started buzzing on the counter top.

"Hi Craig, Carolina's in the shower. Thanks for hooking us up with the van, it's great."

"Yeh, yeh no problem. Where are you now?"

I tried to bring him up to date...

"We've only got as far as Brady. Carolina wanted to stop and buy ammo and paint. What's going..."

He cut in. He sounded quite frantic.

"Glad she found the Glock. I thought she might need it."

"And the van, has she painted it already? Mikhail saw the picture of the ad on my phone so he knows what it looks like."

"Craig, are you winding me up? What's going on? Is this a joke?"

He switched on his camera.

"Do I look like I'm joking?"

fq003-2-Craig-video.jpg

"You need to get off the main roads. Take a different route. He's coming after you."

"But how does Mikhail know where we are going? Did you tell him?"

"Sorry, sorry, sorry. He was going to hurt Timmy."

"Craig, I didn't know you had a son. You need to go to the police."

"No Timmy's my Shih Tzu. Carolina won't want any cops. Definitely no cops."

"Mikhail is mad, really really mad. He want's it back."


We've just parked up now. In the middle of nowhere.

It's a mystery how we got here.

We went in search of gold, passed a New Yorker in ill fitting pants, drove through Robin's woodland, visited a farsical country with an extra a, waved to some noble people, and then a beautiful latina woman.

I lost track of how many miles we did, or how many hours we were driving.

Carolina didn't say much. She was crying most of the time. And when she wasn't she was using all sorts of words about Mikhail that I cannot repeat here. It certainly expanded my Spanish vocabulary!

"Why did I get involved with him? Why did I let him use me?"

"If I had just ignored what he asked me to do, I would still be working at Steemit, and none of this would have happened."

"Soy estúpida. Soy una idiota."

"No you're not Carolina. You're not. We will fix this."

I thought I had problems, but that's nothing compared with whatever mess Carolina is in.

Carolina is my best friend, she's more than my best friend.

I need to help her - but I don't know how...


This is getting intense. We need pizza. We need beer. That always helps.

But in this god forsaken rat hole of a town not even the gas station is open on Sunday ☹️



What is going on?

Where are we? How did we get here?

Votes aplenty for correct answers, solving of the clues, and good suggestions of how I can help Carolina...


#flashquiz 003 (Stage 3)

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Whenever I get there, I never know whether to selfishly share the answer or wait to see where others land first

I’ve got a rubbish migraine so can’t think of a cryptic comment yet! Maybe later.

Have you considered becoming a Passport America member?

It's $44 to join and if you're staying in the RV a lot, it'd quickly pay for itself. You'd instantly save $15 on tonight's stay.

From what I see it is moving towards the east?

aviral123 has found the correct location...

In future, I think I'll just share the answer. There's not much point me waiting for the next person to just say the answer! 🤷‍♂️

I guess you don't always want to be the one to answer... But I think it's okay if you answer when you have the answer.✅

I feel that it's unfair if I get it so often but when somebody else does get it (like you did), I want it to be for the reasons that you did - super sleuth clue unravelling 🙂

Could be a good idea to join Passport America, but we are trying to stay under the radar...

Oh my mother, things are getting ugly, according to the clues, I can tell you that you are in the Santa Fe National Forest

image.png

According to the clues, you passed by Los Alamos where you will find the statue of General Leslie Groves whose pants were not showing well.

image.png

You must recover the main road, it is important where we are in order to guide us in the best way, maybe in Denver you can find shelter.

Check in on @the-gorilla's comment above for where we visited along our journey.

Just need to find the final parking place now...

I went to a zoo the other day, all it had in it was a dog. It was a Shit-zoo.

Carolina received a call that made her see that she had no more reason to be in that place, so she accelerated her trip to forget everything related to her boyfriend. She went to buy some ammunition, which is normal in Texas, the type of ammunition is for personal defense, because it is not common to use it for hunting animals. I buy some paint, maybe I plan to paint some graffiti in the middle of the road, leaving messages like "I don't depend on anyone else, independence is coming".

Now I think they are going to Los Angeles, they left in the middle of the night and stayed at Companion RV park to rest and then check the truck.

Companion rv park

image.png

I am going to try to interpret each and everything one by one... Let's begin:-

It seems that Carolina is under a serious trouble as she got a call from Craig, and got to know Mikhail is after her. He also saw the picture of the Van from the Craig's phone. As Carolina painted the Van to avoid detection but here Mikhail got to know about the Van......!

As you entered in Brady, Texas ; you stopped to buy some stuffs including ammo.... which showed that there would be something strange going to happen 🤔.....

A place connected with Gold, according to my search, near Texas , is Llano.

New Yorker in ill-fitting pants, it is out of my range 😂 but it might be a landmark where you passes by, mayebe New York, Texas.

Waved to some noble people:- It can be referred to Kingsland, Texas, where "king" refers to nobility.

Beautiful Latina woman: Refers to Santa Anna, Texas, or maybe in San Saba, Texas


1000008657.jpg


It might be wrong, a complicated one...

See @the-gorilla's comment above the correct places along the journey.

But the final parking place is still to be found...

To buy that thing you all need, you two might just stop and buy it at Walmart Supercenter. Since ammunition is on sale there, all other shopping of course.

The purchase of ammunition is limited.

Is it possible for you guys to be in Glen Rose?

Maybe here Cedar Ridge RV Park, or here Paluxy RV Park

What happened, cannot yet be understood. Maybe Carolina prepared herself for the bad possibilities that could happen according to her.

For the call that Carolina received, I think is a cryptic phone call that set her on edge, and now she's on a mission to prepare for something.

As for the ammo and spray paint that she purchase hint at a potentially dangerous or covert operation.

As for where you guys are, at this point I will say you are in a small town in Texas is likely somewhere along the Interstate 10 or Interstate 20 corridors, given the mention of being in the middle of Texas. So I will say you are in Ozona texas.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/S2Q8BgP8PTWFAcJFA?g_st=ac

As for what's going on, I think Carolina is preparing for something dangerous that is about to happen. And she is ready for the challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62