You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 38 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 STEEM rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hey @whatamidoing! This is a fun contest! I'd like to enter with this post please Which is a garden update on our first year of #grownfoodnotlawn #urbangardening endeavour!! Growing Food is easy!

Sort:  

'Growing food is easy' ... if you know what you're doing :) This year first time i grow some veggies in pots on the balcony. Cherry tomato, cayenne pepper and Hopi blue corn! I've realized that (pot) size matters. Also due to the unusually strong sun in Europe this year, plants better grow in half-shade...

Good for you!! Growing is such an adventure. So much to learn each season. And, so many variables. Growing is easy. Though success is not guaranteed! LOL.....Just keep growing!! I hope you use @dustsweeper to help with your payouts on post upvotes. Some day I will have whale sized votes, though that day is not today! All the best to you!!

Thanks, i'll definitely will experiment more with growing veggies. @dustsweeper seems like a good idea, as most of my posts have less than 0.03 $ of upvotes so i'll give it a try.

I hope you do! It's super simple to do. Do you know how?

Yes thank you, i've sent some STEEM there couple of days ago but i'm yet to see the upvote(s).

How are the potatoes in your sister's yard doing now, a month later? I once had a potato plant that got huuuuuge but no potatoes. Haha. I think it didn't have enough room in its bucket.

Well that's a good question Phe! I think she's eaten some but they seemed small. The plants were all small & spindly. Hard to imagine as the plants are usually so large & lush. When i grew them they really helped build my confidence becsuse the plants were huge! The potatoes did well too. Guess will see what this crop will be like. The soil we used was really not very good. We will be harvesting soon. Fall is really setting in quickly it seems. No matter how much i ignore it!i am never ready to let summer go! Such a bummer to have no potatoes even though the plant looked successful on the outside. Mother Nature just being a tease! Have you tried again since or have you taken a break from trying your luck at potatoes?

Turns out I'm allergic to potatoes, so I gave up!

Mother Nature was looking out for you! I have read that there are potato allergies. Some ppl feel/ behave intoxicated after eating them. What reaction do you have?

Mine turned out to be what a previous doctor had years prior brushed off as, "You have IBS. That's usually caused by anxiety. You should learn to meditate." Green leafies caused the same reaction, and are also an allergen.
Yeah, no, doc, I had FOOD ALLERGIES and I might have had relief a decade earlier if you had RUN A TEST instead of patting me on the head and being condescending...
I had the kind of "IBS" where I was in so much pain it could eclipse my endometriosis pain; my stomach would distend so much I looked pregnant and my pants didn't fit; and, well, the plumbing was either clogged or on full blast. And lots of painful, trapped gas. I drank on average four ginger ales a day trying to control it because nothing else helped. I still drink a lot of ginger ale but on average about one a day now. I wonder if the remaining issues are a food I haven't eliminated yet, but it's a world of difference from how I was!

You've done very well with your gardening efforts. I can't believe the gophers got things in your containers! that's wild! I've been struggling with moles taking out my garden so I can feel for you with gophers destroying yours. As gardeners say - "Oh well there is always next year!"

No doubt! I have not had to tango with moles in the garden. I hope i don't have to. But, 'talking' with the gophers helped immensely. I told them they could dig and eat anything outside my yard. I showed them the boundary & it worked! My neighbours had all their plants in pots destroyed! Mine are still intact though the season is getting the best of them. I also offered the gophers tobacco. They are the cutest critters to watch. Their little hops, jumps, tail flipling and dandelion seed eating was so sweet to watch. Though they shit on everything! 😂 Thanks for checking out my post.

And this is how I remember how my grandmother had some tomatoes growing on a dry trunk all of a sudden XD.

Awe! I enjoy many memories of my grandmothers & my great-grandma when I garden too ❤ It's such a good feeling of connection on so many levels. I am so happy my post made you think of your grandma! That makes my heart feel very happy! Blessings @awhsarada

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71219.01
ETH 3807.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50