You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's in your library challenge

in #contest6 years ago

Cool collection 😎 @rossfletcher!

  • Being an electronic tech... I can say, you have some gems!
  • That VOX set is just wowzer. Where in the world did you get that?
  • That tube book really piques my interest too. I've worked on a few tube projects. Mostly unsuccessfully haha

Congrats on being entry #8 in the contest

Good luck!

Sort:  

Hi, Thank you Dave.
I got totally off track with this once i started and then i just thought it's too late to stop now i'm posting it Haha

Here's a link to Jim Elyea's page. I don't know if the book is still available. There's always Amazon too.

http://www.historyforhire.com/VB/voxguidebook.html

I did some work on tube guitar amps after studying all the books! I can do some minor service and repair. It's pretty cool if you play old amps. Fenders are probably the easiest because of the way Leo designed them and all the info you need is easily available. Whew i'm really spun with all this. I'm really just a photographer and artist/musician who really can't write to save his life :)

You CAN write, Ross!!!! You certainly express yourself and who you are. Don't stress about it!

I'll second that. You did just fine!

  • Is anyone still making tubes? It's been 30 years since I've worked on anything like that...

Thank you.

Yes there are new tubes available but they are a mixed bag when it comes to quality, lifespan and tone. I bought some new old stock tubes (nos) 50's and 60's stuff about fifteen years ago and wish i would have bought more. They are harder to find now and much more expensive. If you have a small project or something to restore they are worth it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67