You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative! - Week 20 - Share your most undervalued work + week 19 winners ($12 STEEM prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago

Here is one of my best deadpost where I elucidated on the fact that a word sometimes have more than one meaning. It helps non native speakers of English Language to understand the language and use it better.

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@williams-owb/do-you-know-a-word-could-have-more-than-one-meaning-read-more

Sort:  

Some cool info on grammar there.

Thanks for the kind words. I took my time to trash some of the words and expressions that could be causing confusion to the users of English Language. Seeing an expression like "He forgot to arm the alarm with his arm" could be difficult to understand if one is not conversant with the rudiments and basis of language.

Best wishes!!!

I can only imagine how non-native English speakers who're new to English feel when they see such confusing sentences! Glad you're clearing their doubts.
Cheers!

I bet that it can be quite frustrating at first when you are just getting acquainted with the language but as time goes on when you read posts like this and educative books, it would become clearer.

All these leads us to one of the feature of language - flexibility. Language is flexible such that it can take any form.

What's your first or native language @yesaye?

Agreed.
Mine's a language of Karnataka, India called as Kannada.

Okay. You seemed to have mastery in English language from your choice and use of words. That's a good one. 👍

ಶುಭಾಷಯಗಳು

Hahaha I'm flattered! :P
Thank you, best wishes to you too!

It's my pleasure 😀

Great post, I am sorry it didn't get found and rewarded appropriately. I hope you are having more luck these days.

Thanks for your concern dear friend. Well, I'm sure better days are ahead. I'm still persistent and focused in what I do. I do not let low payouts deter me from moving forward.

Best wishes!

Feel free to follow the @asapers we are always looking for good content to curate.

Boom you have my vote! I am an English teacher teaching IELTS and one of the things that is always difficult to explain is exactly this! Because not in every language this occurs, so it is really hard to explain to students that yes....this is actually true. A word can have more than one meaning. heheh

Hi @karinxxl, you must be a master in your field. I'm sure some day I'd drink from your pool of knowledge. I'm a graduate of English and Literary Studies from Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU). I have been bathed in the river of Language by scholars like you.

Yes! It is quite difficult to understand words that have the same meaning as well as words that are similar in orthography and pronunciation. It is as simple as it is when one is open minded and understand the context of each word.

It's nice to meet you and best wishes 😊

Yeah nice to meet you as well! Definitely not a master in my field as yet, but learning every day. Doing a lot on Steemit in English also helps a lot, just using the language more :)

Very interesting post:)
Have you ever considered stating it in reverse;
I have ever wondered,for every meaning, what are the words that can be used to express it.
Thanks for sharing :)

Fist off, you did a really great job on this post. I can clearly see that you put a lot of work into it. I also like the topic you chose. I think it's important to realize that sometimes words can have double meanings. This can be confusing to people when your using the same words in different instances but they have different meanings. It's just like you explained in your examples. I think this does help non native speakers of the language a lot and I'm sure that they would appreciate the effort you put into this.

Thank you for the commendation @artbyclark.

Non-native speakers would find the post helpful and it would assist them to know which words to choose at the right time.

Thanks for stopping by.

what a helpful post. I'm a native English speaker but I think semantics are pretty cool. I enjoyed reading your post! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed reading my post @amariespeaks. Where exactly are you from?

I'm from the US - outside Boston, what about you?

I'm from Nigeria

very cool! gotta love Steemit - where people worlds apart can chat!

It's very interesting and innovative - bringing us together.

Semantics ARE cool!

What a fantastic concept! I ponder this a lot, because I love learning language, and also writing stories and poetry and being really playful with my words, and I know that these concepts will rarely translate directly...

Thank you for the kind words @stirling
Language is life and it's the reason for our existence, either we communicate with verbal or non verbal language.

One of the characteristics of a great poet is the ability to play on words - pun. It takes someone who has mastery in language to do this.

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35