The Pen - Sonnet Entry

in #contest7 years ago

The Pen

I enter this riddle called life,
A path of joys and sorrow.
I'm puzzled by such strife
I hope for a bright tomorrow.

If the words I pen are true,
Then others will soon see
Time the teacher will imbue
A chain spreads on infinitely.

If my ink instead were blood
And words an act of war,
The good I'd do would never bud;
My pen instead would leave a scar.

I tread more lightly on a page
Power dwells in every word.
I seek my soul as though a sage
I pen wisdom needing heard.

This is my attempt at a sonnet on it... I'm not even sure I've done it right but I wanted to throw my hat in the ring.

If you would like to join in on the contest here is the original link:
https://steemit.com/contest/@chrisroberts/poetry-contest-write-me-a-sonnet-win-sbd

pen-1035081_1920.jpg
Image

clipart-bars-dividers-4.jpg
DQmYnkAPCV3otfk5GF9tMyxaJAinMtDJ9QopjcTKiMYFEFZ_1680x8400.png

Proud member and previous Make a Minnow SP delegation winner [MaM] sponsored by the Minnow Support Project on the Peace, Abundance & Love Network. Come join the channel, for uplifting conversation and grow your Steemit blog.
Join ~》Discord

logo.jpg

Logo by @KingLeo47

Sort:  

It may not be iambic pentameter, but it sure is nice to read! I think it was marvelous, even.

If my ink instead were blood
And words an act of war,
The good I'd do would never bud;
My pen instead would leave a scar.

Just amazing, man. The power of words and writing can bring about much change, for good or bad, through peace or war. I think that really comes through in this verse.

Upvoted and followed!

Thank you so much for reading... I knew it wasn't shaky ground for the sonnet but I'm glad you enjoyed reading and thank you for following and commenting. That was a great compliment that you gave me. I've also followed you.

You are a poet! I love the sonnet. You should do more.

Thank you. I usually freewrite and feel on shaky ground with real form!

Thank you. I really felt shaky and I'm not good on this form but there has to be a beginning if I'll ever learn. Thank you for the encouragement <3 it means a lot.

Thank you for reading and the compliment. For a first sonnet I wasn't real confident! <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51