WINNERS: Homesteading Contest: Skills Edition

in #contest7 years ago

chickens_steemit(2).jpg

Last week I announced a contest called: Homesteading Contest: Skills Edition. I am a firm believer that we all become stronger by sharing knowledge and information.

Many of us are re-learning valuable old world skills that have been lost and forgotten. With modern technology and platforms like Steemit we've got an opportunity to share and learn from one another and that's a great thing!

This contest was about sharing a specific skill, and providing well written instruction on how it is done. I would like to thank everyone that participated!

Winners

First Place 5SBD from @ Walkerland plus 1.065 SBD

Wildcrafting 101 by @mountainjewel

Learn the basics of wildcrafting and why it's such a rewarding and beneficial pursuit. This guide will take you through the process of identifying, sustainably harvesting & processing. They also talk about safety, tools of the trade and the most important thing of all: respecting nature. Spring is the perfect time to begin your journey into wildcrafting!

D2500E6E-0BFD-41B0-BC39-0C1407DDC753.jpegPhoto: @mountainjewel

Second Place 3SBD from @walkerland plus 0.533 SBD

Chickens Day - Raising Day Old Chicks by @goldenoakfarm

With spring around the corner and chick season upon is this guide is perfectly timed. Learn about setting up the perfect environment for raising chicks. This guide includes information on predator proofing, bedding, feed, water, temperature and more.

Chicks - box opened crop May 09.jpg
photo: @goldenoakfarm

Third Place 1.5SBD from @walkerland plus 0.2132

How to Make a Basket (DIY) by @sherylneil

This project teaches you how to make a decorative storage basket using a cardboard box. It demonstrates that with a bit of ingenuity you can make nice things out of simple materials. This is a great DIY project!

20180218_115446.jpgphoto: @sherylneil

Honourable Mentions

@honeyriver for the entry: Potent natural flu and cold remedy: Fire cider thieves vinegar

@bangbro for Infused Fermentation #homesteadskills

Prizes will be paid out later this evening. Thank you again everyone for sharing your skills.

[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

This was such a great contest idea! I've got to go back and read the winning entries...later sometime...I wanted to enter but I've been juggling way too many balls lately and keep dropping them! I'll catch up one of these days :)

thank you so much @walkerland! this was an awesome contest and i hope you have more like it in the future. we had a blast going out and wildcrafting usnea and you know what they always say, nothing helps you solidify your own skills more than teaching.
Blessings! <3

Thank you for participating! I really enjoyed your post. I happen to have a whole lot of usnea around here so I am pretty excited. I've found a local herbalist who does forest walks. I am really looking forward to spring even more now!!

OOOH that's exciting!! i'll look forward to hearing about your experiences!!

also, stopped by your website last night- it's really nice. you've done a great job :)

any luck on getting your son to pose for our contest? ;)

Thanks! A lot of work went into that site and I do love it. I have been neglecting it the past few months ... I am trying to decide what to do. Steemit it has changed my entire perspective on blogging.

Kyle has been flying a lot the past few days and hasn't been reachable. I have been flipping through photos to see if any of them jump out as the perfect idea to pitch to him. If you do this contest again in the summer I've got one I will eagerly enter. I love stuff like this :)

I hear you on the steemit changing your perspective.

at the beginning of the new year, i was all set to start creating a website and then steemit hit and i was like nuh uh! this is my thang!

sounds good. many people are interested, but still haven't gotten any entries! i feel like it's a great idea and many people express enthusiasm so hopefully some will flow in. i'd love to do another edition in the future. :)

I am really hoping you get some entries. It's a great idea and a generous prize as well! This contest did not have a lot of participation either! I appreciate all the entries!! but I had imagined there would be more.

I'm digging our my albums for one I can enter but I just don't have many childhood photos. I'll do my best! :)

thanks <3 at this point, you'd be the winner lol!

i thought you'd have a lot more entries too. lucky for us tho hehe

I loved your post! :)

Thank you very much @walkerland. It's a fantastic competition. I enjoyed a lot.

Congratulations too to @mountainjewel and @goldenoakfarm. I learned a lot from your entries. Thank you for sharing your knowledge for homesteading contest.
Best wishes to all

Congratulations and thanks for entering and sharing your cool idea! It was so neat to see that box transform into something beautiful.

I can't believe I got 2nd place! That's wonderful! Thank you. I hope my post lives up to the award!

It was a great post and well timed with spring arriving! Lots of people are unsure of how to care for baby chicks and you explained it really well! Great post and thank you for entering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85