Win 1.5 SBDs in VDux's Sad Haiku Contest for Happy Pandas, Er, People

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Contest!!!

Come join the third-best haiku contest in the world. If you have 30 seconds to spare, you could win 1.5 SBDs for just 17 syllables of writing.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about regret. You can make it funny or sad, personal or fantasy.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

I squish a spider.

My wife and children rejoice.

Only I regret.

You may submit multiple haikus, but PLEASE make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

This theme comes from @shawnsporter, who's getting .005 SBDs from me just for the idea. If you have any suggestions for future contests, reply below!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, November 21, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, November 21, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests -- the list keeps growing!

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp, @ccaallvviinn, @alecreed, @lahvista, @binkyprod,

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Regrets of the past
Often lingering, just there
Forever unchanged

moment of weakness
chocolate cake touches lips
diet is ruined

No Regrets

I wrote this haiku
and I wrote it just for you
Wrote another too

Cos saying not to
You just make it too much fun
To post them as one

;)

Nice one...

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yea? Next time three!!!

well...

too many moments
slip us by trickling past in
The blink of an eye

too much left unsaid
things forgot and overlooked
falling like water

when we try to touch
regret is the shadow that
marks our every step

we need that shadow
to give color to the light
as sunrise needs night

so remember - try
never forget what made you
but never regret

Although, think you have just inspired me to go off and write a whole new poem <3

Feels more like a poem, yes, but the last part is very beautiful!

Great poem it is, too

i cannot forget
the broken parts that made me
nor can i regret

💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Regretting mistakes -
Pictures show our finest days
Giggling, smiles

Nice, I can interpret this two ways, looking at pictures of a past partner or feeling bad about silly things we did when were young.

I had in mind your former thought but also the latter works really well. "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" is kind of what I had in mind. We so often neglect to remember the great things we share with others when we have gone down a path that leads people apart from each other.

Very true. TOO true.

Box with diamond ring
Found hidden in the wardrobe
I saw it too soon

In a moving bus
He sees his life pass him by
Wasted youthful years

https://steemit.com/haiku/@iamthegray/moving-bus

Excellent.

Here be me submission: Nineteen-Seventy-Seven for this contest here.


Image Source Here

- Nineteen-Seventy-Seven -

Abstract drawings here
humanity's hopes inscribed -
they responded not.

{The following two fail the 5-7-5 structure, yet this was as reduced as I was going to get from translating into Chinese and Spanish.}

这里抽象画
人类的希望被铭刻在一起 -
他们没有回应。

Dibujos abstractos aquí
esperanzas y sueños -
no respondieron.

Lovely. Is that a cymbal?

It's actually the Voyager Golden Record, the one they shot to space in 1977.
Stirrin'.GIF

Wow, cool stuff!

The stern I look out

The wake I have created

Stirs placid waters



Homer.gif

Giphy Source

WELCOME BACK!!!!!

Well done. I see strong haiku here.

I'm too late again
The deadline has past me by
I won't be counted

Love this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31