VDux Haiku Contest -- SOUL TRAIN!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


Source: Giphy

Win SBDs and More: VDUX Soul Train Haiku Disco!!!

Don Cornelius himself would approve of a chance to win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity. All you need to do is write 17 syllables.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about pancakes. Yes, PANCAKES. Bonus for incorporating the New Day into your entry. Use previous haikus, if you have any!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

Vdux makes pancakes

Some plain, some with M&Ms

His kids love sugar

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

Thank you to @tygertyger for suggesting the theme! I got .005 SBDs coming your way!

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, June 22, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, June 22, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free "shout-out" for winning
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Thank You to All Who've Participated in Previous Contests

Here you are:

@jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec

Write you haiku below and Feel the Haiku!!!

Sort:  

Love Bacon pancakes
And makin bacon pancakes
That is what I make

https://steemit.com/haiku/@offgridlife/bacon-pancake-haiku

I wished so much I could make this song haiku!

I get this song stuck
In my head it will remain
I can’t get it out

Jake shrank so tiny
He fits in your ear and sings
His soulful bacon song

(It was my ring tone but I was singing it constantly!)

Ha ha that is great
Every thing is haiku
It's easy to do.

Thanks for the haiku but NOT the video. One point for the entry, one deduction for the tune, one point for the effort. Now how do I get that damn song out of my head???

I can delete it
the video if you like.
It is addictive.

Keep it! I was kidding, I love it all.

My entry...

Blueberry Pancakes
There is nothing quite so good.
Now I must have more.

https://steemit.com/haiku/@daisyphotography/my-pancake-haiku-blueberry-pancakes

DAAED64B-1BA3-4359-8D3B-75A95967D5AF.jpeg

Looks delicious!!! Awesome haiku!

Pancakes we have some.
I can never get enough
Yes, I Love pancakes.

https://steemit.com/haiku/@offgridlife/i-love-pancakes-haiku

C49BBD9B-AAE1-4CFB-AF89-F2AD504141BA.jpeg

PANCAKES LOVE YOU TOO!


Credit

I am a wizard
Flour milk and eggs to pancakes
By transmutation

I couldn't believe flour was only one syllable but the internet assures me it is, the wonderful english language ;)

OK if the internet says so, I must oblige.

Emergency measures ensuring morning survival

eating-3061164_1920.png

Wake me with pancakes
they make evil mornings sweet
feed me now Seymour

Oh no, a people-eating pancake?!?!?!?

More like if I don't get my fix beware you're on the menu :P chop chop off to the kitchen or it is literally chop chop :P


Ode To Pankeki

Face like a pancake
Oh so big and round and flat
My Mr Pankeki

The Great Pankeki

Panda not pancake
Make no mistake, friend not food
Cuddle tumble dude

Photo is the real, legit, Pankeki, on holiday having a nice walk in a field. He went with a few of his alpaca bros, and was even kind enough to let me come along. Pankeki means pancake, he has the cutest ever pancake face <3

How do you do this? You come up with themes and it is like wham bam all the haiku! I know @tygertyger suggested this one, so it was always gunna be awesome, but damn when I get to it. I have written you like fifty lol, so here is one last one and I am making myself stop. Haiku's, like pringles but there is no end to the tube.

The Pancake Blessing

May your eggs crack clean
May your batter whip up smooth
For the perfect flip

Don't stop!

Oh gosh darn it! Seen as you insist, the rejected ones can have a chance!

The Winnie-The-Pooh Dilemma

Break-first, or sex first?
Is like pancakes or pop tarts
Can't I just have both

I am the pancake

Pancaking in bed
Roll me up in my duvet
Better than sugar

Pancakes

Pancakes for breakfast
Pancakes for tea oh pancakes
You make me happy

Lent

Pancake decadence
Today we feast with toppings
Tomorrow we fast

Loading...

Oh, I couldn't resist for I was making pancakes )


2018-06-18-13-47-32.jpg

original words and image

haha look who's here too :D

I never miss the fun!

pancake-1776646_1280.jpg

A lazy morning
Heavenly scent lingers
Pancakes for the soul

Steemit post: https://steemit.com/haiku/@chadrona/haiku-pancakes

Nice, nice, nice. Welcome to the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45