VDux Haiku Contest Gangnam Style -- Win 2 SBD, Upvotes, and More for…

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

VDux Haiku Gangnam Style!

There are TONS of great contests on Steemit. Mine's on here, too!

If you have 30 seconds to spare and you can write 17 syllables, you can win 2 SBD, author rewards, and some free publicity. You don't have to dance, but I give EXTRA POINTS for anybody who includes a video of them doing Gangnam Style.

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku that has anything to do with time travel.

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

The future is now

My spaceship found a worm hole

Time flies, doesn't it?

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

Thank you @poyim for the theme suggestion. Expect .005 SBDs as a "thank you" soon.

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, August 9, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, August 9, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 2 SBD
  • Half of this post's author awards
  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any of the winner's posts. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit. So far, it's been very, very close call with lots of great entries to choose from. Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want.

I run this haiku contest regularly so if yours doesn't win, try again next time.

Awesome job everybody who entered my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @millennialnow, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13

Also, @firepower for Steemit commentary and occasional contests, @jayna for great fun writing prompts, and @mermaidvampire for always having something to cheer us up!

@liverussian, @felixgarciap, and @four20 for their above-and-beyond support for this contest. ::Humbled::

Feel the Haiku!!!


Source

Sort:  

Here Is My Entry!

Children, move forward.
Always looking to the past.
The Future awaits!

This haiku is about my daughter when it's time to wake her up for school?

8-)

Ha! Incentivize her with Steem!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Time is more like a
big ball of wibbly-wobbly,
timey-wimey... stuff.

mp,550x550,matte,ffffff,t.3u2.jpg
image source

That's deep!

YES!Fellow Whovian!

The Ultimate Holiday

Let's go to the end
We can be the last of man
And watch the sky burn

I wish I wrote this Haiku, if I could time travel, I would steal this from you, post it first, than blame it on synchronicity 😀

Lol thank you very much! Although if we could both time travel...

We could have a race
To see who could post it first
Back and forth through time!

Sounds like the premise of a movie. Do I sense a screenplay in your future?

I was thinking of H G Wells ;)

a trip on a brick
smack into a week my head
unconscious journey

Ah, clever!

A wrinkle in time

I must find my tesseract

Close the gap, I will

Mine is below, cool contest:

From the future comes, one that knows what changes lie, time to face it all.

or in classic form:

From the future comes
one that knows what changes lie
time to face it all

That's great. Welcome to the contest! Will haiku bot find your entry?

Thanks! Sadly my great friend did not stop by yet, but another chance now.

We miss you @haikubot!!!

wake from traveling

in my dream I'm in a lake

Slight of hand in pans.

Hey the middle line is too long! Can you revise to fit contest rules?

You're right. Honest mistake. I fixed it. Thanks.

Boom! Thank you.

Just One Trip

If I could go back
For a single night with you
That would be enough

Dear Little Calluna

If I could tell her
Would I warn her what she'll lose
Could she save a life?

Chasing After You

Different ways I Approach

You always say no

thumb.jpg

Oh, clever way to use the theme. I get it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58711.36
ETH 2729.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28