THE ONE HAIKU CONTEST YOU CANNOT MISS

in #contest6 years ago


Source: Giphy

Welcome to the VDUX Haiku Contest!!!

Now endorsed by Cardi B, the Vdux Haiku Contest keeps rolling!

Read below for more about the contest instructions, how to participate, awards, and how I'll select a winner. Also drop by @jayna's page for a cool 50-word challenge.

Contest Instructions

Write a haiku about music. Use previous haikus, if you have any!

This must be a one-stanza, traditional 5-7-5 haiku like the ones described here: http://www.kidzone.ws/poetry/haiku.htm . Here’s an example:

VDux plays music.

The guitar represents him.

They are both high strung!

You may submit multiple haikus, but you need to make each haiku its own reply. Each one will be considered a separate entry.

I need more suggestions of themes! If you have any suggestions, TELL ME!

HAIKU CONTEST ISO THEMES

How to Participate

  1. Reply below with your haiku. Deadine: 11:59 pm UTC, October 9, 2018.
  2. Upvote this post. Deadline: 11:59 pm UTC, October 9, 2018.

That's it! But...

You should also resteem this post to increase the winner's prize and give yourself some free exposure! You can participate without resteeming -- I don't give preference -- but if you do resteem, it only helps you.

Also, post your entry on your own blog! Mention @vdux and I'll give you an upvote and resteem your post.

And, collect a bonus point for each person you tag in your contest entry. More players, more prizes, more fun!

Awards

Winner gets:

  • 1.5 SBD
  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

One runner-up gets:

  • One free resteem from me for any post. (You choose the post. There's no time limit but I reserve the right to refuse to resteem any post I consider offensive or indecent -- I'll simply ask you for a different, non-offensive post.)

How I Will Select the Winner

Within 2 days after the deadline, I will read all entries and choose a winner and runner-up. While I'll take upvotes into consideration, my selection will reflect my personal preference based on the entries you submit.

Feel free to reuse a haiku from the past and write as many as you want!

Also, give congrats to all who've participated in my previous contests:

@tristancarax, @jenel, @giddyupngo, @chrislyr, @mineopoly, @puppetmaster1111, @calluna, @yidneth, @creatr, @acousticsteveo, @blackant, @rlt47, @viking-ventures, @steemotion, @foxfiction, @lologirl, @creyestxsa94, @yahialababidi, @jadams2k18, @doughtaker, @ladyrai, @impending.doom, @andysantics48, @felixgarciap, @godstimetim, @gamsam, @antorchajohnny, @aniketmore1925, @mameh, @tygertyger, @kaelci, @felicitas, @ayyeenn, @dmilliz, @eprolific, @jvanman, @kimberlylane, @phoenixwren, @liverussian, @herbertholmes, @dizzyjay, @emdesan, @markeverlasting, @shawnsporter, @operahoser, @eaglespirit, @tomset, @millennialnow, @preparedwombat, @apeximomen, @melissakellie, @freedomno1, @moneyinfant, @mermaidvampire, @mysearchisover, @yahialababidi, @givonwayne, @pinkgeek, @boxcarblue, @ablaze, @hope-k, @rexdickson, @crescendoofpeace, @digitokash, @theunlimited, @theodora87, @mysecondself01, @pocketmouse, @jacksondavies, @ohkaaay, @lazarus-wist, @dbooster, @janesmy081316, @dc420la, @redheadpei, @whitelite, @olymar248, @nenad-ristic, @trudeehunter, @bananamemos, @iswaldsmoak, @josoft, @onefatindian, @pedroelec, @offgridlife, @daisyphotography, @chadrona, @hazem91, @celsius100, @emergehealthier, @ralk98, @fromage, @four20, @amayphin, @mother2chicks, @jackofcrows, @trumanity, @barge, @evlachsblog, @natepower, @elbrujo, @neenarose, @beatking13, @snowyknight, @alom8, @sidequest, @oclinton, @sarez, @f3nix, @jurich60, @artofwisdom, @zephalexia, @letalis-laetitia, @rentmoney, @olivia08, @myd77, @moofang, @dirge, @cinderz, @moncia90, @rdsmas, @theironfelix, @manoldonchev, @iamthegray, @tiempoyesp

FEEL THE HAIKU!!!

Sort:  

Nice!

With musical notes
In a world he never made
A man's soul is changed

Good to see you again!

Thanks for having me.

- One Final Fight -


The steady gallops

of many feet played a tune -

of one final fight

This post be an submission: One Final Fight of this contest here.

That's thinking outside the music box!

UwU ~ Thanks for the compliments and thanks for reading it! Indeed, a music box you've received for such a musical prompt!
Flyin' by!.gif

Rock n Roll for me
Others like the symphony
My xylophone

Xylophone-y!

Not sure what you mean?

to finish the rhyme!

my blondness is showing

Phoenix is a bard
Who can sing but not play chords
Wants a piano

Posted using Partiko Android

I recently got my piano off someone who was moving. So happy now!

That is awesome! I see that offered occasionally on Craigslist, but what I really need is a full size keyboard, because I live in an apartment; that way I could plug in headphones and not drive my neighbors batty. Our walls are paper thin!

I managed to pick up a very nice electric piano. I'm very fussy when it comes to digital pianos - the weighting has to be normal so that I can play Axel F (the test I've applied for about 30 years, lol... like after I had it memorized. I literally have not looked at the music in that long - don't even have it now!)

When I was in England, we ended up with a really nice digital piano (the only thing I've ever bought as the result of inheritance.) And yes, the volume control was one of the nicest things about it - they seem to only do paper thin walls over there!

LOL. Our walls are so thin, I had a partier neighbor for a while who I got to hear puking every Saturday and Sunday morning because he had been out drinking Friday and Saturday night. It was so gross. 😲

My 2nd entry:

The Flow

Moment to moment
All dance the flow of music
Colorful mystic!

https://steemit.com/haikucontest/@jurich60/vdux-haiku-contest-music-my-2nd-entry-sidkceda

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @vdux, my entry

Dream Night

by @felixgarciap

In the Dream Night room....
It was full of young people!
only jazz music.

https://steemit.com/esteem/@felixgarciap/dream-night-a-haiku-poem-fa7940de477beest

Image Source

Young people don't listen to jazz anymore!!!

When they read the Haiku they will be motivated. LOL

Thanks, my friend @vdux, for another inspiration...


Table of Contents

~Girl With Guitar~

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Sweet girl with guitar.
Beautiful to listen to.
Dazzling to see.


😄😇😄

@creatr

Excellent job, as always.

Thank you, Sir. :)

Song of Glissandos
Cascading, Shimmering sound!
The Rainbow of Life

Adapted from a line in my recent freewrite :)

I dig it. Definitely!

Here's my entry:
Music

Grandma strum, hum, hum
music, made the baby sleep
with a goodnight kiss!

https://steemit.com/haikucontest/@jurich60/vdux-haiku-contest-music-bs1q6ozg

Posted using Partiko Android

Very sweet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51