You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The final 16! IFC Tournament! Are you Ready?!

in #contest6 years ago

Hearing great things about you @apolymask, I think we need a Dolphin Council... You would be an awesome addition I think :) Looks like you would be now if you powered up everything, close enough for me! ;)

Sort:  

Oh? That's cool to hear. :) Thanks for the info! A Dolphin Council..? I'm not sure what that is exactly but it sounds interesting. I'm definitely open to learning more! And also interested in networking and working with other groups more too when it works out. :D

This is the first time I have uttered (typed) those words... but the idea has been forming up for a little while. I have a widening circle of potential candidates that you just appeared in ;) It's all in my head at this point but it could come together rapidly. I think we would likely have a meeting place and/or structure we could join, or at least a virtual support structure already in existence. Or not, but there are several options open at this time. I have several long established Dolphin Friends, and we could include any (ssshhh) Orcas and Whales that might want to participate. But I think we need to REQUIRE a "Major Stake" for Voting Members, and anyone with the 10 Million Vests achieved most definitely has a "Major Stake"... As far as leadership? That would be voted on, I do not pretend to be capable of leading such a group... I thought I was the "Littlest Dolphin" then we collided ;)

😀 😁

Hmmm. I'm definitely potentially interested but I need to know more details. I have a considerable amount of my SP already delegated away and I have to keep my IFC contest going for a while so I'm not sure how much I could personally invest, but.. I am interested in branching out more in the ways I can that I feel are helpful and I am potentially open to working with you, I just need to know more information and it sounds like you're still coming up with the idea a bit yourself, but.. I'm still not totally sure what the group/thing is all about, is it like something where people upvote each other or something else? And like just how much of an investment is required? And perhaps a few other questions, though.. It sounds intriguing! And I appreciate the offer either way. Looking forward to learning more. :)

DOLPHIN COUNCIL... hmmm As of now it's a relatively new idea, but not an investment deal or voting group. What came to me was an idea that would be like a Liaison Group of Representatives that would gather data and ideas, coalesce them into logical growth patterns and solutions.
Seems to me that the Dolphins are still the most "connected" to our "minnow days", the Whales and Orcas are tending to other business, big things that are necessary, but some of the smaller important items get lost in the shuffle. Those dealing with the entire forest might be too busy to tend to individual trees.
DOLPHINS, on the other hand, would be the perfect critter for herding minnows, redfish and plankton. One GLARING need is member retention. Nearly 90% of all accounts are idled, and a tiny account with no posting volume and no voting activity is a drag on the system, IMO. I'm sure I could find any number of STINC-WHALES that agree with me, and could give many more ways that it muddies the waters. So that will be Job ONE for the "Dolphin Council"...
Why a Dolphin? Are there not thousands of minnows doing the same thing? Yes, I believe there are, but I see several factors in play that make me think Dolphin should be the criteria. That will be in the Post I am working on.
I do NOT want to lead this, that is not my aim nor my goal. I just think the time is right and it is the perfect balance of Invested in the System and Experience, along with "Connection to Minnows"... Minnows are all looking for a Whale to follow, have no idea that we have so few, and do not realize that to some whales, minnows and plankton are "just another micro-vote" and can get punished with flags quite easily. We lose many that way, they are caught up in the Flag Wars :P

Sorry for the super delayed response. I get a bit overwhelmed with messages on here sometimes and it's hard to keep up.

Just decided to check your page first and see if there was a post on this and it looks like there is. Reading now..

Kk.. I just read it. I agree with your goals and I'm interested in being a part. I recognize that you mentioned this here.

I will list off several members that I believe are already performing the duties as listed above, and these people will just simply have to accept the invitation to join.

Though I'm still wondering what if any obligations I have are. Or what I should be doing exactly other than just having another title.

I think maybe you're still figuring that out, and you're also looking for leadership as well, so I understand you're not quite there and it's a work in progress. No worries. Our whole IFC idea is similar. :)

So.. That reminds me of what seems to be one of the major problems in your post, "retention".. I think we can help with that. We already are. I've had a lot of people tell me that the IFC is basically the only reason they still post on steemit cause it helps them think of things to write about and challenges them to make posts regularly..

So.. We're helping with that and the other areas a little bit in regards to minnow education, we do that a little.. Not a lot.. But.. I think in the the future if the IFC becomes big like openmic, then.. We could be a major reason a lot of people keep posting on steemit. Hopefully in time the proper funding comes in to help, so far we've got a great amount of support from the community, though I personally think this idea could be a LOT bigger. And if steem continues to grow, some day I think it will be.

Anyways.. Umm.. If you wanna improve retention you may want to try to think of more ways to make steemit fun. Like games and contests and stuff that keeps bringing them back. :)

Do you have a discord room for this new dolphin idea yet?

yeah from me what the cheese!! hey hey dolphin council!!

moi 👈🏼👈🏼👈🏼👈🏼

😍 😘 You are darn close, 25.698% of the way there!!! WOOOO!!!

you are hilarioussss ... how do you figure this stuff out? amazin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50