Reflections #1: A Mixed Media Collaboration Contest. Any Questions? (3rd and last pre-announcement, 50 SBD prize pool)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

This is the third and last post in a series of three posts announcing my upcoming contest, called Reflections. It is a contest for Mixed Media Collaborations. Every entry will comprise of two separate posts, providing a link to each other. One post will feature a piece of writing. One post will feature a work of art. The two need to reflect one another. The contest will open on next Saturday, on 16th of December at 20.00 CET, and close 7 days later, on the 23rd of December at 20.00 CET.

reflections.jpg

Each pre-announcement post contains some tips about how to make our lives as judges difficult. Speaking of judges: I will be judging all entries, together with @sunravelme.

The Prizes

Thanks to very generous donations from @tanglebranch and @plushzilla, the prize pool is currently at 50 SBD. The exact division of this pool will depend on the number of entries received.

What do we expect from you?

You can enter as a team, or you can fly solo and make both posts yourself. The most important thing is that we want to see two posts. Each post needs to contain a link to its twin.

The first pre-announcement second tells you a bit more about how the contest in general. The second pre-announcement contains tips on how to wow the judges. Basically, it tells you what we expect from your entries. I advise everyone who missed them, to check these posts out.

We would love to see how the artist came to the result that he did, but we would also love to see or read about how two partners worked together. You can add this as an author's note in the writing post or the art post, or both.

FAQ

However, I expect that some people have questions I haven't answered, since I simply didn't think of them. That is the main focus of this post. If you have any questions about the contest, feel free to ask them in a comment. I will respond as soon as I can, and add your question to the post itself as well if you manage to ask your question during the first seven days after posting.

How will the entries be judged?

We will score the posts separately, and we will also score the closeness of the connection between the twin posts. If you deliver two exceptional pieces with a remote connection, you could get a score similar to that of two posts with a lower level of quality but a very strong connection. Two posts that don't reflect each other at all, will be disqualified.

Am I allowed to use Deep Dreamed photographs for the art post?

Yes. But do remember that the Deep Dream Generator is not a very hands-on method when creating images. We would advise you to make a series, as you would with a regular photography post. As always, remember to document your progress. We want more than just the end result. ;-)

Can a person enter more than once?

Each user can enter one writing post and one art post. Whether both posts make up a single entry, or are each a part of separate entries, is up to you. You can do a solo entry, or you can enter once as a writing partner in a team, and once as art partner in another team.

Is there anything else you want to know?

More information will be added as people ask more questions, so do remember to look in from time to time.

Next week, I will post the actual contest post. You will need to provide a link to your entry posts in the comment section of that post.

Good luck, and happy brainstormings!

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by clicking the link below.






Sort:  

Hi @tinypaleokitchen! This is my submission for the contest - https://steemit.com/writing/@steemfluencer/the-man-in-the-yellow-datsun-a-christmas-story

I couldn't team up with anyone, so I'm automatically disqualified.
I'm still happy that I made an attempt in this contest.

I'm sorry you ended up without a partner. For what it's worth, I liked your piece.

In general, what's your experience with hosting contests. Was that one the first one you organized or you did a few more?

This was my first one, actually. And I'm not done yet. There's a lot of judging to be done. :-)

Right, that's a critical stage of the contest. I'm just curious, what was the total number of participants?

11 entries ended up qualifying. 8 were teams. 3 were solo entries. 3 others wished to enter but didn't meet the requirements of the twin posts. All in all, I don't think that's bad for my first contest.

Impressive stats for a first attempt. It's not bad at all.

Last days I've tried to think of what kind of contest is actually missing a lot here. Something both entertaining and educational. Will keep doing my analysis and continue keeping an eye on what you and the other guys are doing.

It's so interesting. I'll try. I followed and resteemed.

The contest opened last night. Do make sure to read that post. That's where you'll need to post your links. Good luck!

Resteemed! Let´s get a lot of people to participate, I know I will definitely be joining your contest Tiny ^^

Thank you for the support and your kind comment, Nomad. I can't wait to see what you come up with!

Excellent captured. I love the color of the background such a mystery :))

This is not a photo post. Did you even read it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66