Original Art/Photography Contest! 5 SBD Prize!!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

steem.jpg

I like to write prose and poetry.... little stories that usually describe a moment in time. I'm not an artist, nor am I a good photographer. Most of the time I wind up on Pixabay trying to find a picture that visually represents what I'm trying to relay, and it's really tough to find just the right image.

For this contest, I'm looking for original art (which can include photography, digital art or any other medium) to complement my original piece of writing, "The Blue Wind's Return", which you will find at the bottom of this post.

Rules:

  1. Please read my piece, "The Blue Wind's Return".

  2. Submit your entry by sharing the link to it in the comments of THIS post.

  3. Upvote and resteem this post.

  4. Use only your original work.

  5. Two entries per person allowed.

  6. I will judge the entries based on originality and my own perception of how the image fits my writing.

  7. All entries must be posted in the comments of this post by 8pm eastern time Thursday, September 14, 2017.

Have fun and thanks to anyone who wants to participate!

If by chance this post performs really well, the prize may be increased at my discretion and/or consolation prizes may be awarded

leaf-1131829_1280.png


The Blue Wind's Return

Expelled from the warm depths of a dream, I awaken to a sudden onslaught of coldness.
My pulse pounds for a moment while trying to analyze the contrast of the swiftly fading
Images burned in my mind and the frigid intrusion that is quickly overtaking the room.
I try to calm myself and concentrate on the erratic rhythm of the shutters banging in
Accompaniment to the eerily inviting monody carried in with the blue wind's return.
The night is clad in her blackest glory, allowing not even the slightest bit of light as I gather
The quilt to cover my exposed skin before setting bare feet on the cold wooden floor.
I shuffle blindly in the void towards the source of the merciless influx of autumn air, hoping
To regress to the warmth of the bed and the bliss of sleep within a few seconds.
Using my weight to push down the window and secure the encasement, I let the covers slip
Unintentionally from my shoulders. I reach downward through the darkness then freeze.
The thick veil of night covering my eyes affects a heightening of my other senses, and I attune
Slowly to the sound of shallow breathing that I cannot claim as my own and a spot of warmth on the back of my neck.
My lachrymose mood dissolves, and I am uncertain whether my heart is beating out of control
Or whether it has stopped altogether the instant I hear the velvety whisper of confirmation.

Ⓒ Tina Jordan 2017 All Rights Reserved

*second image via Pixabay

Follow @tinajordan

Sort:  

After a serious inner debate, the winner of this original art/photography contest is.... @agneslaczo !!! I want to thank everyone who took the time to read my poem and participate, and as token of my thanks, each entrant will receive a small consolation prize!

this is my entry. I am not sure if i am doing it right... :-(

That is stunning! Love it! Yes this is fine, but if you post this as a separate post (or if you already have), include the link here :) Thank you!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Excellent!! Thank you for this entry!

First, I'd like to say that this was a nice poem. I liked the slow build up and the open ending caught me by surprise. It was a spooky write.

Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/poetry/@moeknows/spooky-night-original-photo

20170912_220533.jpg

As you can see, I'm not a great photographer either, but I explained what I was trying to accomplish in the post. Maybe someone with skill can actually see it through.

Super! Thanks for entering!! :)

Hey,That was a nice :) I do love Poem, i wish i can join the contest but my english writing not so good in grammartically. Following,upvote, resteem and Share. Hope the contest going well have a nice weekend!

Hey, I have been thinking about starting a service to edit English poetry for people who speak it as a second or third language. It would be cheap, like .10 SBD. Would you be interested in something like that?

Would it be a translation service?

No, because I'd want to do the service for all languages, but I'd try to stay as close to the original as possible.

For example, @cryptoaddicted's post above could be...

Hey, that was a nice. :) I do love Poetry. I wish I could join the contest, but my english writing is not so good grammatically. Following, upvoting, resteeming and sharing. Hope the contest is going well! Have a nice weekend!

Ahhhh.. got it. Great idea! :)

Thank you :)

Wow, great poem! Effectively scary! This is a really interesting challenge. Thanks, I hope you see me again, submitting a photo!

Thanks so much! I hope you will submit an entry!! :)

Hmmmm. I will be going through photos today with your work in mind.....wonderful words.

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87