ADVENTURE READING CONTEST #2 UPDATE (Still almost a week to win for photography, writing, and engagement!)

in #contest6 years ago

Here we are, an update post for the Adventure Reading contest! Thanks to the dip in Steem/SBD value and my absence on Steemit, we only have 11 SBD so far in prizes, and 10 of those are from me. Please upvote this post to increase that pool!

In spite of that, you guys are so amazing that we already have two entries! @awhsarada returned to take us to her college in Venezuela with a John Katzenbach novel, and newcomer @rindaman1234 shared his thoughts on Stephen King from his colorful front porch. Check them out and give them your support for a higher chance of winning the Community prize!

On a more personal note, I'm sorry for my continued absence. My creativity time has been 100% wrapped up in another project with friends, but I'm excited to say that we FINALLY launched a couple days ago (I'll tell you more about it soon), and the nights of working past 2am are over for now. Once I recover from my exhaustion, I'll be able to return to a more balanced life, which means writing and reading and commenting on Steemit to drum up more support for my fellow adventure readers!

There are still 6 days to submit your entry! Here's a refresher on what this is all about:

AdventureReadingContest2.jpg

What Is Adventure Reading?

Turn your reading into an adventure! For me, this often means shoving a book into my hiking pack and heading to the hills, but you can take your own interpretation. I want to learn all about what you’re reading and where you’re reading it!

Example Post:
Adventure Reading: "The Emperor's Soul" and Abandoned Mines in Gothic Basin
(you don't need to follow the post's format, it's just to give you an idea to start with)

The Requirements

  1. Upvote this post to increase the prize pool.
    Resteeming and shouting from the rooftops is encouraged but optional.
  2. Take a picture that shows a book you’re reading and where you’re reading it.
    You do not need to travel to a far-flung place, it can even be in your bed! And the book can be anything from a library book to an article on a tablet.
  3. Tell us about your journey.
    Be sure to incorporate details about both the book and the place, but beyond that there are no rules - creativity is encouraged! The journey here can be literal or metaphorical.
  4. Include the words “Adventure Reading” in the title.
    So I know it's an entry, and to spread awareness of the contest to others.
  5. Tag your post “adventurereading”
    So myself and others can find it.
  6. Submit your post by Sunday, February 18 at 8 PM UTC.
    Click here to convert to your time zone.

The Prizes

There will be 3 winning categories, each receiving an even 33% of the SBD payout earned from this post and all other posts relating to this contest. I'm contributing 10 SBD of my own again, which I will personally choose how to distribute.

The SP part of the payout will go into my own coffers and be paid out to all participants in the form of upvotes - hopefully a win-win!

  • Photography Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading photo.
  • Storytelling Winner
    This will go to my favorite Adventure Reading description.
  • Community Winner
    This will go to an individual who has given meaningful interaction through comments/upvotes on other Adventure Reading participants’ posts.

It is possible for one person to win all three of these and take 100% of the prize! The judging is entirely subjective, but I will put my heart into choosing the best based on quality and effort.

EVERY valid entry will receive a 100% upvote from myself. I'll also give partial upvotes to my favorite comments and will be honoring ALL my favorites in the winners post.

The idea is that the engagement portion will make this a valuable contest to participate in even if you don’t win! Remember, we are here to SUPPORT EACH OTHER! Upvoting and commenting on others helps rather than hurts your chances!

Let me know in the comments if you have any questions/concerns. Keep on exploring and having fun, my fellow bookworms!

- Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

What a clever contest! There are so many fun aspects to this project, not the least of which is the way it ties together reading and writing. I will do my level best to join in with an entry.

This contest is now over, but I'll be holding it again - I would love to see an entry! You sound like you'd be a perfect fit for it.

Awesome! Yeah, I missed your deadline, but there was too much other stuff going on. I intended to take my book to one of my favorite coffee shops. :-) Maybe next time! I'm now following you so I will hopefully see the next one.

What a great idea for a contest. I wish I had seen this earlier. I hope to participate in the next one.

YES! Please do! I'll be starting a new one in a week, with another two-week long length, so there should be plenty of time to prepare.

Lake and mountain. Good nature @therovin

If you like nature, you should join and read outdoors! :)

"Working past 2 am"... This would be me with in some days. Good luck with the project and the contest!

Thank you! And sigh, we're all there sometimes - so long as we have some breaks it's not too bad. Also, you won a prize again! The winners post is now up. Thanks for your awesome participation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99