The Questions Contest #55 | Do you think Facebook is coming to its end? | Reply and win SBD & Smartcash!

in #contest6 years ago

Free animated banner by @aka-alias

Every day I ask one question to the steemit community

Share your thoughts, win prizes and have fun


1. Check the rules, prizes and previous questions of the contest here 

2. To participate you just need to reply in the comments section and share your thoughts. Resteem and upvotes will be greatly appreciated :)

3. The contest runs Monday to Friday. Every day a new question will be on discussion. Questions asked could be about any kind of topic: life, arts, politic, ethics, etc...

4. I always try to read all your comments and try to reply personally if time allows :)

5. That's it! One week after the winners will be announced in each new post, ie Monday i'll announce past Monday winners. Winners will be the most voted reply, the most engaged and a random winner


Topic: TECHNOLOGY

Join SOLA: The new generation social network that pays for your content.

Join MANNABASE: Free universal WEEKLY basic crypto income for everyone

Sort:  

I think no, Facebook as long life because Facebook is smart enough, and see where they need to make changes. Even the BNBR rules used here would make a difference. I see a lot of teens using it still, to organize their political marches and to express their input on political issues. Believe me, teens know grandpa's and grandma's vote too and want ALL eyes on what needs to be said. Besides, it's a “lets be friends” site, and not just questions and answers. And you have private message with video chat and are able to post 500 pictures of your puppy. I realize theres other “fun” sites out there too, but I can see Facebook making changes to improve their face too, more appealing to teens as well. Its well established already, not trying to come out as another “new site”. They definitley have started on these changes too. They could change their symbol too . Older folks wouldn't be put out if they did that. I think they will figure it out.

That why I say Facebook has long life.

I thin face book is ended soon because As today’s kids mature into teens, they’ll hop on something new that is more relevant to them, away from the prying eyes and of their parents and their political/religious posts, ads, and reposts from Reddit. Their switching costs are low as they are new market entrants and “all their friends” are using it. This could happen next week, next month, next year. A couple of teens working in their University dorm are probably already working on a next generation social media company that addresses all of Facebook’s annoyances.

As the younger generation switches platforms, Facebook’s growth will slow, advertisers will switch, investors will dump the stock, and Facebook will become the next Yahoo or AOL: only relevant to few die hard fans but no longer a leading tech company.

Unless Facebook can continue to innovate and drive new ways to engage the younger generations, it will die a slow death. It’s just a matter of time.

This is my reason.

Yes I agree with you

Yaa if they don't develop one day it will end soon

I think "no" because many people are still using Facebook. And every day many new people are joining this platform.

@joel0101, you said, and I quote

Fourth point, facebook never really proved that it was able to adapt to new technologies since 2008. Indeed, I wonder whether they really considered blockchain as an interesting improvement in their strategies. The latest actions leading to forbid ICO advertisement and blockchain related information proves that they are not willing to go with the new paradigm.

Facebook considering blockchain as an interesting improvement in their strategies ? Why should they ? Facebook themself cannot do such, its as if you're trying to endanger their platform. Facebook promoting cryptocurrency isn't such a good idea to them(the facebook team). Its what they should do but, they'll lose some users to the crypto world. They've lost some users like my friends and I already..lol.

When was the last time you visit your facebook page ??

Facebook ?? Can't even remember that

I agree with you, I think they have a huge problem, leaking data and losing users on a daily basis. All empires end some day and now my feed, which I very occasionally visit is full of ads and companies but no sign of friends lol

Is Facebook coming to an end?? My answer is yes!! Just that the process might be very slow. Little by little user are moving away to other platform which they think are better alternative to Facebook. As a steemians I don't think I can give my Facebook account a personal write up when I know I can post it here on steemit and gain something off the writing.It's that straightforward. Weissman reports that Facebook lost a whopping 4% of time spent on the platform in November of last year. And has lost an amazing 18% of time spent on its site in December! But it's not just Facebook. Instagram lost 9% of user time spent on the platform. AMAZING!.. User are up for better platform just like steemit or maybe the up coming sola.

Do you think Facebook will laylow and allow other platforms in the system move user away from them.

Zuckerberg also said he plans to study encryption and the blockchain “see how best to use them in our services"

People might still leave Facebook If other platform pays better.

Yes. Y should I go through the stress of uploading my picture on Facebook when I can get money when I do the same thing on sola??

Datz it ... Y should I do a writing on Facebook when I can get sbd with it on steemit.. Facebook is coming to an end

Why posting on facebook when you can post and make money from it on sola... Bro, you're a real hustler. Lol...

It's is not much of a hustle. He is just moving with the crowd to a better pasture.

Yeah bro, to a better pasture

No way Mark Zuckerberg answered the questions yesterday and today on Capitol Hill like a Boss. He made the senators seem like ignorant old grandparents. If anything I think it will only grow in size, net worth and power. Steemit can learn a lot from Facebook.

No, it is not.
Personal data was farmed since the moment phones were invented. Anyone could "farm" addresses, names and numbers with relative ease. Yes, you can "opt out" of it but, as we can see, telephone directory books still exist.

Many, too many people, do actually WANT to be farmed for the comfort and benefits it gives (in the case of Facebook, targeted ads that promote things you were looking for... yesterday... Linking you to the exact same page you've already seen).

I think this is starting to change with platforms like steemit. I think if someone can make it with a friends network (which steemit isn't) based on blockchain might in the future overcome facebook. Because facebook was made to keep in touch with friends, not to see ads and posts of companies in my opinion and that's what they fucked up. Thanks!

I think every year a new trend begins. It was MySpace to Facebook to instagram to Snapchat. Twitter and a few others made major impacts along the way. Steemit feels like that secret trend that hasn’t been made public yet. Do I think Facebook will end like MySpace did? Yes I do, but it hasn’t yet

smart reply :) The thing here in my opinion is that companies will not use steemit as they were able to use facebook...big changes!

From my point of view, Facebook could come to an end if Mark Zuckerberg and his team do not take appropriate measures to adapt to the worries of the users.

First point is that the datas are fully submitted to third parties and represents the main revenue of Facebook. Unfortunately one cannot use this media without being harassed by unwanted advertisement.

Second point a lot of people possess multiple accounts and often are submitting friendship request to scam people. Especially when it goes about dating bachelor and require money once the fish is ready to be caught.

Third point the notifications for friends activities, reaction on comments, likes on own posts and more. This is more of a distraction to people than really useful. This creates the famous FOMO syndrom.

Fourth point, facebook never really proved that it was able to adapt to new technologies since 2008. Indeed, I wonder whether they really considered blockchain as an interesting improvement in their strategies. The latest actions leading to forbid ICO advertisement and blockchain related information proves that they are not willing to go with the new paradigm. Blockchain offers way more possibilities and I had to laugh a little while hearing Mark saying that Facebook would enable users to manage their datas, seemingly at a cost. I am not sure people would be willing to pay a charge just to secure their privacy.

On the other hand, the blockchain is developping itself step by step and my thought are that there must be a lot of pedagogy to be done in order to convince the mainstream to use a decentralized technology.

Even if Facebook makes the effort mentioned during the hearings, they will always use a centralized data system and be the owners of the users datas. Or why would a customer pay to have the right to get a warranted privacy protection? The customer can only be the owner if he get money for submitting the topic related information to a business, government, hospital or anything else.

I really appreciate that there are questions leading to reflect on the contemporary concerns.

Best regards
@joel0101

I agree with you, but I think notifications are useful if not overloaded. And also facebook didn't change the look of the site in years, it looks like a crap full of buttongsm the UX is awful! Thanks for joining and i'm glad you like the questions proposed :)

Agreed, notifications can prove useful if when not overloaded. The topic of interest must be well-chosen.
The UX design is useful, I once read that the choice for the color was due to the fact that Mark Zuckerberg cannot distinguish the colors following a specific eye dysfunction.
Obviously changes in the feature would also show that the company can fit in a new context and also to the customers / users wish.
FB will face a lot of challenges and from their response to the change of paradigme will depend its future. I guess that a lot of issues are linked to the lack of experience in their management.
As an example I can mention Google as in my previous comment and the Blockchain Technology is also drawing a lot of high profiles who want to provide their efforts to develop the structure of the future without repeating the mistake during the internet implementation.
Thanks for welcoming me I really appreciate this concept. It is also a great way to learn to know new people.

Facebook will not die in the short-term. The problem here is what is the world getting done on Facebook right now, and do better alternatives currently exist? For stuff like news and informative videos, better alternatives to Facebook certainly exist. But for stuff like online mobile social games, a true challenger to replace Facebook hasn't shown up yet. I've gone through too many games on my iPad that have constantly urged me to link up with my Facebook account. As long as games (or any other category of stuff that might be on Facebook) rely on Facebook account linking as a crutch, Facebook won't be going anywhere. Now if these big companies can be convinced to have people link to their STEEM-based accounts instead of Facebook, then society might be able to advance on the path to killing off Facebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78