Cartoon Penguin ~ My "Learn To Draw With Friends" Contest EntrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest7 years ago

Hello Everybody! This is my Cartoon Penguin drawing entry for a drawing contest by @tonyr. This is my second contest with Tony and just as I did last time I took photos to show my work along the way. This is a drawing contest to be done in black/white pencil or color pencil on paper, and it is the first of 3 images I will be doing for this week's contest.

If you like my drawng please upvote my work, and jump over to @tonyr contest post, scroll down to find my comment with my drawing and upvote me there. The judging is based on upvotes in the comments. The link is after my images. Thank you!

Penguin-Final.jpg
Finished Work

Here are the work in progress images:

Penguin-01-2.jpg
Getting the rough sketch down

Even though this is the "beginner" drawing entry for this week, it is a bit more difficult than the Homer Simpson drawing since it deals with a non-human figure and the standard pre-alignment setup does not apply here. I started with a fat egg shape to get the proportions established, then added in the basic shapes for the face and flippers.

Penguin-03.jpg
Putting in the actual outer edge lines.

Penguin-04.jpg
Adding the details to the face.

Penguin-05.jpg
Erasing the sketch lines.

Penguin-06.jpg
Once again it's commitment time, putting down the black lines

Penguin-07.jpg
Adding in the base colors and shadows.

This weeks cartoon sketch uses some gradient soft-edge shadowing versus the clean hard-edge shadows in the previous contest with Homer Simpson. This requires a little bit of planning ahead to make sure you don't lose those highlights later on. i lightly colored them in with a grey pencil to hold the placement.

Penguin-08.jpg
Adding the black and darkening the highlights.

The final step was to go back in and put down the final color layer using more pressure on the pencils. I went back of the grey highlight areas with the black pencil adding a bit of pressure to ease it into the darkness level I wanted.

Also since I did not have the exact color for the beak and feet, I lightly added in some orange to darken it up a bit.

I hope you enjoyed my drawing.

Please vote for me here and in the comments of the contest post page!

https://steemit.com/art/@tonyr/learn-to-draw-with-friends-is-back-week-three-35-sbd-prize-pool-and-everyone-is-invited


As always, please follow me if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this, Please ReSteem it!

Thank you!

Sort:  

That is cool, you are a great artist.

Thank you @mattt, I appreciate the kind words.

A fantastic post @steempowerpics. Your enthusiasm and support for the contest brings a smile to my face. :)Can't wait to see how you get on with the other two and look forward to seeing your really well put together posts explaining your process.

Thank you my friend! :)

Thanks Tony. I really enjoy contests like this, they give me a chance to do things I just haven't put time into for a while and I get to provide something back for others to learn from if they want to.

This is awesome! I love seeing people use their abilities to teach and help others grow!

Thank you @deeboe1126 I have fun entering the different contests here on Steemit and I always try to provide an explanation of how I do things with my entries to help others who may want to learn from it.

You make it look so easy :)

This is my equivalent to your food photography lol you make that look easy an effortless.

We each have our skill sets I suppose :-) When you have a moment please jump over to vote for my entry comment on Tony's contest page.

Thank you so much!

Cute penguin.

Thank you @nadhir, I'm glad you like it. If you have a moment please jump over to the contest page to vote for my entry comment over there too.

Very Good.

Keep your pace @steempowerpics

Thank you Justino. I will attempt drawing the other 2 images in the contest in the next few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52