You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Monster/ Hairshare Giveaway! Who is Your Favorite Steemian Writer Comment Challenge!

in #contest6 years ago

I'd definitely go for @mirrors. She doesn't have a lot of time to spare these last couple of weeks, because she is very busy researching and writing curation posts to support the little guys, but if she finds the time to write she does an awesome job.

Her creative writing always sweeps me off my feet - her words always get to me. That's why I think she definitely deserves to be mentioned here.

You can find an example of one of her creative writing posts by clicking the image (or link) below:

Unchanging

image.png

My Bitshares account: simplymieke315

Sort:  

wow! Thanks @simplymike for this kind words. I didn't know i hold this special a place in your esteem. I am grateful.

I will confess i miss the 'writing', in fact i spent the bulk of today reflecting on the state of my account from since i adopted more of curation.

It was a disposition inspired by a comment yesterday from someone i previously curated, and who 'returned' to show her gratitude, and encourage me to continue.

Its funny that i now bump on you here echoing my exact sentiments. You know the truth is, i miss a lot - like, a lot!

Lately when i think of it, i cant help but wonder if with everything i miss doing, for curation sake, and which, honest to say, has somewhat slowed my account growth, if its all worth it.

I tell myself it is, although not without a tinge of regret, the disappointment that i can t fully commit myself to what i do best .

My resolution is to try and balance the two, creating and curating. ...i hope i can reclaim some of my writing self, with a couple of works in the next few days. And to keep it going.

Thanks again. As always, i cant be grateful enough.

I had read the comment and your reply you are referring to.
I know how it feels: it is difficult to find a balance between supporting others and grovwing your own account by doing what you love most. I'm not going to get started about that again - I've been going on and on about it just a couple of weeks ago.

Maybe it would be an idea to limit the number of curation post to two or three (or even one longer one) a week, so you can focus again on the stuff you love most.

It's a very noble cause to help others, but it shouldn't get in the way of your own progress. On top of that, you should be doing what you like most, in order to stay motivated.

I didn't know i hold this special a place in your esteem. I am grateful.

That hasn't changed since our very first accidental encounter, lol.

When I read your writings, I'm often a bit jealous of how you know your way with words :0)
While reading them, it often feels like I'm standing right beside you and share your impressions and experiences. That'how good you are.

I hope you will find a balance soon, because no matter how I admire the support you are providing to others, I'd really like to read more of your personal writings :0)

Very glad for your 'sweet words'. I am working on a balance. I have been doing 3 posts, and want to keep that up for a while, see how it goes, with the likelihood to cut them down to 2. For now though, whereas i have since scheduled them on a daily basis, and still hope i can manage that, i am giving myself a little bit of freedom, and will only post when i am able to.

Also, i have decided, every single feature post must be preceded by my own creative work. I hope this is motivation enough for me to do both.

Thanks again. And by the way, just after this conversation the other day, i put up one, and bang! It got curied. It was a post i made following from a rediscovered self belief, i might say, after your encouraging comment here. Very grateful.

I saw the curie vote. Congrats!
That's how it goes: you are at your best when doing what you love most.
If only I had half of your skills as a writer... :0)
(I remember asking you this before, but I don't remember the answer to the question, so I'm going to ask again - sorry: is English your mother tongue?)

True, writing comes a lot easier when you are down to your passion, although after a while, may be it needs some sharpening to get back fully! During those early days i required only a prompt, and i had the story typing it self away on my finger tips. Now i have to think some. but i guess it should come easier with a couple more trys'

English is not my mother tongue, per say. My country is multilingual, but English, Inherited from Colonial time, is our National language, used for public office communication and for instruction in all academic institutions, all levels.

So basically throughout my school, and now public life, I have used English. It perhaps explains my fluency. Also i had a very aggressive reading culture when growing up....read almost the entire old Testament albeit unknowingly. lol. But yes, i read quiet a lot when growing up. It helped that my dad a was a teacher.

Thanks again. I hope i can craft a lot more of creative works in the coming days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45