Entry for the Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes

in #contest7 years ago

This week is so incredibly busy for me, that I barely manage to breath. And then @zeroooc came along with another amazing contest and the ideas just started running through my head and wouldn't let me sleep :P But who needs sleep when you can sketch, right? ;D
So that's what I did last night instead of sleeping :D

cards-row-s.jpg

The theme this time was #Antiheroes with the mutator of #FanArt + Suit of Clubs ♧ cards.

And my mind immediately went to some of my favourite Anime characters (yes, I'm a total anime-addicted otaku) So I decided to take that direction, but to draw them in my style instead.

These are the original characters I used:

King & Queen: Shinra & Celty (Durarara!)
I admit, the only reason why I watched that series was this couple. What can I do, they remind me so much of my genious and I :D And in so many ways..


image source

image source

Ace: Rin (Rin: Daughters of Mnemosyne)
Rin must be one of my favourite famale anime characters of all times (and there aren't that many, as so often the female characters are whimpy, whiny & annoying, unfortunately). She is a total bad-ass, who lives forever and does that as she wishes (warning: this anime is definitely not for everyone).


image source

Jack: Lelouch, a.k.a Zero (Code Geass)
As I was figuring out who should be the Jack, I thought that nothing could be more fitting than Zero, for the contest run by @zeroooc :D
I think that his crazy genious character could fit perfectly with the anti heroes.


image source

Here are a few process images, including one of the previous sketches for Zero, as I made several tries for him until I was happy with it.

cards-process.jpg
NewCapture_01.02.2018_00.21.37__1.Hi.png

I created all of the characters and base for the cards with the programm my genious is developing. Then I moved them to Photoshop, to put them all together and added some fun brushes.

Cards4.png

This was totally worth the sleep deprivation ^_^

Good luck to everyone who compete!

Sort:  

Exciting characters. Well choosen

Thank you very much :)

:D Wii! Another Code Geass fan!

Oh yes!
Can't wait for the new season to drop :D

Wait, what? Another season? I had no clue!!
standing samefully in the corner while googling for info

Very cool @shlomit!
Choosing Anime characters is a more than viable, though I must admit that I only know Lelouch and Rin out of the four. Durarara! I must still check out. I do appreciate that it represents a personal connection for you and the the black and white design of the king and queen is terrific. Rin and Lelouch are good choices for the Queen and Jack, and certainly for the suit of clubs. Slightly on the pragmatic and strategic side with a dash of chaos. Extra points for using an unusual software to create these.

Glad you chose to draw some cards. May the odds be ever in your favour!

Durarara! is great, at least the first season. I have not seen the second; I have fallen out of my anime obsession although I might get back in at some point.

I do recommend watching it through to the end, especially since Shinra & Celty turn from side characters to main ones ^_^

Thank you dear! <3
Well, knowing Rin is good enough, not many know that series :D
Durarara! was a pretty long one, but not all stories in it were interesting in my taste, it's Shinra & Celty who made it all worth it for me ^_^
Thank you again for organising such awesome contests!!

Great work!!! I need to watch Mnemosyne.

Thank you very much! ^_^
Oh yes, Mnemosyne is wonderful <3 but only for those with a strong stomach ;)

nice sketches! I love those sleepless nights, driven by inspiration, a creative rush ....

Thank you dear! :*
Oh yeah, those can be great ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76