You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the Love of Comments, Round 9. Win 200 SP for a month.

in #contest5 years ago

I think in terms of community, well at least here on the Steem part of the block-chain there is the monthly meet ups that we have at The Jade. I find that supportive and find out what people are doing, what their plans are and what they have definitely stopped doing and the reasons why.

But another really supportive community that I love contributing to is the Food Fight Friday competitions. Regardless of what else I am doing on the block-chain to earn Steem or provide my support to others, this is a weekly food photo / story competition that anyone can enter, that I can look forward to engaging in. There are no real prizes outside of supportive comments and a larger number of upvotes from more people reading your food based content. Some have suggested Tasteem, but I have found their criteria to be rather restrictive. In fact, I find a lot of the criteria to a lot of what people do on Steem to exclude a lot of people.
I am bigger than a hashtag and refuse to limit myself to one community, and to paraphrase Grouch Marx, I wouldn't join a club that would have me as a member.

Sort:  

There are so many communities that it's probably best to just stick with the ones that work for you. I certainly get that some communities can be a bit too restrictive. I much prefer the ones which aren't restrictive, or at least only put provisos on certain benefits, like our Frog, which are perfectly optional.

I think if a community is important enough for you, then it can be worth the restrictions, but if you only have a passing interest, then you might not want to make that commitment. I've only looked at Tasteem in passing, because I've wondered about doing a post on a couple of cafes/restaurants, but I'm not majorly into eating our and restaurant reviews. The Food Fight Friday ones sound like a good middle ground. I'll have to have a look at the tag.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. Frogcake is out little treasure. All it takes is a comment or two to make it really pay off. Plus it often pays out better than most of my delegated investments. I do wish that I had joined Steemit and understood all of this AND we had these dApps back when Steem was US$9. But you can only play the cards you're dealt.

Some groups wanted daily posting and upvoting of a post within a group. Not too bad, but if you missed as much as a day, you'd be kicked out. I wasn't even given a chance before they blocked me on discord.

Others claim to be about 'free speech' but operate with centralization and censorship. Shrug.

But the Food Fight Friday is one where you just have to have a food based story that people can vote on with a few photos of the food in question, and maybe some story related images.

Daily posting! I think I've only ever managed that for a week twice. Even if you're writing great content, there comes a point where people are going to struggle to read everything, unless they're on here all day. Most people follow multiple accounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31