You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #22: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest7 years ago

'My Bottled Story' (The Night's Unfriendliness)

My Sister - Itoro and I were the only gift left of my mother. My father who died three years ago built our house in a quite remote area and sometimes at night sounds of spiritual humans would take over the air, gushing every sound at will and sending us nightless nights.

One midnight, we had almost drifted off to sleep when holy cries were heard. Sounds of redundant muffles filling the air as the room grew darker. We held onto each other as we slept again. And then suddenly, 'Bam! Bam!!', the knock on the door made me dead and buried.
Bam! Bam!!, my sister scuffled up as she heard the sound. 'shhhhhhh', I rushed to close her mouth as she sat up, ready to shout. 'Who is that?', she whispered. 'I don't know', I shook my head.
Sammy, Ity, the unknown teased.
'That's mama's voice', Itoro muffled, sweating profusely. 'But she...',
'I know', she interrupted, 'mama must have changed her mind. Go ahead', she breathe as she followed me timidly behind, counting each step I make. My heart was beating very fast. And then, I grabbed the doorknob, unbolted the locks and swung it open.
It was not mama.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72