You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Show me a snap winner is @balticbadger-Mystery creature first person who can prove what it is wins

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Congratulations to @balticbadger. Indeed, he photographed an amazing creature. A common creature though. Not an alien. 🙂
I believe we are looking at a female moth. According to wikipedia there are several species with wingless females. They just sit and spread pheromones attracting the males. They are so motionless that they look dead.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wingless_insect

I'm not an entomologist so I cannot say which specie this is. A wild guess would be some female from the Psychidae family.

Sort:  

Lmao! Thanks so much. That makes a lot of sense because she didn’t move at all! Really interesting thanks!

I'm glad I could help. Sorry I cannot say what is the exact specie. It would have been interesting to see the male, its wings color might have revealed more details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67