My path to #steemit - #FreedomCoin

in #contest3 years ago

My path to #steemit

#FreedomCoin

A shared ledger has now been invented
But naysayers are not contented
Sharing upvotes purses ignite
In earning tokens we take flight
And to-date #steemit has not relented

steem-see.png

Mid December 2020
A year that lives on in infamy
Seeking pandemic distractions and new hope
I sought blockchain for social tropes
And stumbled upon #steemit in websearch...

To tell you the truth... I am still finding #steemit!
I have been trolling the blockchain and crypto asset space for several years. I have a high interest in any technology that offers personal freedom. I am always looking for opportunities to find, learn and share such technologies. As a professor, I seek new things to share with my students but I want them to be protected and to feel empowered as well. Through my research arose the question - How can distributed ledger technology (DLT) support teaching and learning? I began watching YouTube videos about “blockchain in education” and a spark went off in my head! I decided to search for “social media networks built on blockchain.” That was at about 1:30 PM, it is now 12 AM and I have fallen deep into #steemit abyss. This is the beginning of something new for me and I am already thinking about how me and everyone around me can benefit. The biggest question on my mind is how much I should invest? Is this technology just a passion project or will there be a strong future?

Other compelling questions include - How will this work in an age where so many social media users are under the age of 18? Can a child join #steemit and can they earn coins for their participation? I am sure the answers are in the FAQs somewhere but I am still asking here as I’m learning and growing.

A fun takeaway for this post is that I wrote a limerick. I used to play with poetry when I was younger but just got busy and distracted. #steemit just brought out the poet in me :-) Thanks @belenguerra for the opportunity.

Sort:  

Thank you, my friend!! I loved your story!! I think it's a great idea to make students relate with cryptocurrencies... they spend so much time on social media (well...adults too haha)... #steemit is so much more than that! It's an ecosystem where you learn a lot of new things day by day!

I agree @belenguerra, it is true that #steemit is so much more than social media. It is one of the hard things to wrap my head around! I am taken aback that so much of this ecosystem is unknown.

Congratulations!! You got one of the mentions in the weekly Steemit Nursery Contest! Thanks for participating.

You have been voted by @belenguerra, as a member of the Steem Greeters team STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator account @steemcurator03 to support newcomers who enter steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest Steem Community update!


Have a nice day!

Thank you @steemcurator03 I appreciate it! Thanks @belenguerra. Nuff Respect!

Thank you my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76