You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dead Poems, Round 11, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago

Here is my contribution ... click on the photo and it will take you there:)

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 12.02.07 AM (1).jpg

Sort:  

I read this before doing some work.. and now read it again.

the canvas tore apart when avowals unravelled

This line is almost dead-center and remained with me all day long. Why, I kept wondering. The word choice implies a non-judgmental and empathic viewpoint. This is notwithstanding the evident pain of the speaker. The more common expression about a disavowal would suggest betrayal, but this way it is explained as an unravelling. And so it is more disappointment which is expressed than deception and betrayal. We all unravell, and need not judge one another for it. I find in your lines, hints of love and healthy closure - to a degree more than most people are capable of finding. The kind that allows for the hopeful ending verses.

I really hope I am in the ball park here. Else, I look quite foolish. God bless you and thanks for your contributions to steemit.

I think you are indeed in the ball park:) Thank you, Trumanity:)

Interesting connection between art and life. The poem talks about closing a cycle and beginning another stage. It is perceived an atmosphere of tension, of discharges, of change of life in which the balance loses balance and inclines to cross the corner saving the interiority and being reborn, at the same time with new tools, new impetus. A new life without poison is presented as an option and is taken.
Excellent job, Pryde!

Thank you, ZC:)

I'll take this beautiful piece as a representation of the sought redress for us Eves and Venuses, gently and yet powerfully provided by our kin. Loved it, @prydefoltz.

I also loved the rhythm ♥

Thank you, Marlyn:)

I remember this one. Still: “A journey of wakening and self-empowerment"

In a context of envy, the promises broke. There is a new beginning, a new life without ties. An impeccable work that calls us to dispel the bad and be reborn.

Thank you, CS:)

The verse goes, "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned", but I believe that a woman who manages to shake off the shackles of other people's expectations and live free might well be something to be in awe of. I love the language you've used here.

Thank you, Sumay:)

@prydefoltz,

... avowals unravelled

And there's the rub.

In my experience, avowals don't ... unravel.

One of the parties, with premeditated and willful intent, shatters them ... and then immediately begins to spin the situation such that it becomes the other one's fault. Just as Adam immediately blamed Eve in Genesis ... "She made me do it!"

Of course, it just as often goes the other way. That's why it always interesting to hear both sides of the story. Whether Adams or Eves ... there's an awful lot of post-hoc liars in the world.

To quote, well ... me:

"One man, cannot give another man honor.
Nor, may another man take it away.
Honor, and dishonor, is something we do for ourselves."

You see, Pryde ... I can do Free Verse too. :-)

Quill.

We do have a tendency to make poems about ourselves and that is part of the magic. That said ... you thought what I wanted you to think. LOL. Although, you give 'free will' a bigger role in your interpretation than it is likely to play in real life. There is your rub and it is no way connected to experience but interpretation after the fact. People are often ruled by forces ... biological drives and fear-driven psychological forces ... that makes logic, reason, and golden-rule behaviours sometimes hard-won. And so the avowal does unravel, even though it was meant at the time, and then the other is blamed as a way of satifising ... explaining away behavior that one partakes in but is not in moral agreement with.

But to the other side ... I doubt it is remembered but I am certain it has been re-fabricated many times over. Life is a messy relative and shifting emotional, ethical quandary. LOL. But it does make for great poetry and even comedy at times:)

@prydefoltz,

Well Pryde, if more of these wayward people joined the army, they'd be more disciplined, wouldn't they? Like soldiers. And, if they spent a bit of time studying Aristotle, they might learn a thing or two about Virtue Ethics.

You don't have to respond ... I'll give myself a spanking.

I couldn't resist. :-)

BTW, this Dead Poem's Contest was a great idea.

Quill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66