Friday Poets Round 6, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Round 6

John_Keats_by_William_Hilton.jpg
Attribution

It's Friday and it is time to get #poetryweekend started with #Fridaypoets. Did you write a poem today and it was Friday where you are? Fantastic, you are half way to becoming a Friday Poet:)

The Rules

  • Up vote this post and re-esteem it. I check:)
  • Visit at least three other Friday poets and comment and up vote their COMMENT here. You can also upvote their post if you got the upvote power but it is not necessary.
  • Drop your link below to a poem you wrote today … that’s Friday wherever you are. I know some of you are taking part in the 100 days of poetry with @d-pend and the steemitschool. These poems are more than welcome, as are any other poem challenge/contest entry.
  • Make one of your tags #fridaypoets and place @prydefoltz in the title
  • I will upvote and comment, to the best of my ability, on everyone who takes part having followed the rules. I should be able to get to everyone within the week. So that will be two upvotes one for your comment and one for your post.
  • The liquid payout from this post (SBD) will go to the winner and participants.
  • I will take part in the contest by writing a poem but I will NOT share in the SBD payout.
  • Have fun and maybe crack a smile.

Last weeks post made 0.569 SBD. The payouts were as followed.

@marlyncabrera .... 0.12
@zeleiracordero ... 0.115
@satorid ... 0.115
@sayee ... 0.115
@mineopoly ... 0.1

On my way now to transfer these amounts. Check your wallets:):):)

Please remember to vote for others not vote for yourself.

#poetry weekend has just begun. Tomorrow is #haikusaturday and Sunday is #deadpoems. Hooray for poetry and poetry nerds. Let's nerd it up:) Love Ya!!!

All words are my own.

Sort:  

Top place on the list :3

Hi, beautiful people!

Here's my participation for this week, and I'll start commenting tomorrow:

"Always Finish in Spring"

it is a beautiful work which sums up the journey.

As bees are called by blossoms for sweet feeds,
as I was summoned by unquiet thoughts,
a hundred days of poetry to defeat
the ogresses of pain who daily roar.

Thank you, @sayee :-) And what a journey!

Exquisite poem of farewell to the 100 days of poetry with the feeling of satisfaction of the work done, despite many drawbacks.

Thank you, @zeleiracordero :-)
More than once I had to skip a day, but I did it. You did, too. So I'm happy for you, too.

“This echo which once flew with feathers swift
has come to quiet solace in the spring.”

Gorgeous closing lines! For me there is a pinch of melancholy in this piece, in a natural and beautiful way, of course. Just ending the hundred days with these closing lines is potent as they could stand alone as a piece of stripped back flash poetry. I have enjoyed your work from the begging. Thank you. :)

There is melancholy indeed, @mamadini. It became something dear, writing a poem a day. Demanding, though. But you know that; your pieces were some of the best in the challenge. You were a happy surprise for me :D

Oh my, thank you Marlyn. <3

You too were a happy surprise and I thank you. I am feeling so grateful for the whole experience, the hardships that made me better, that revealed my shadow and then became poems (art), and now this feeling of completion and fealty. :: Raises a glass:: To many poems in the future and a developing appreciation of the artist in each of us. <3

Excellent poetry at the end of the process, with recommendation included. Good job, Pryde.

come out of your shell
expand and grow

Philosophy oozes out as usual

Hi, @prydefoltz. Cut and pasted ☻

I'm thinking that perhaps infinitum is not that infinitum but my brain is just human, so I won't reach that notion ever until the shell of this existence leaves me.
I'm fixing lunch as I read this piece you wrote. If something gets burnt in the kitchen, it's going to be your fault XD
Big Fish: A Novel of Mythic Proportions by Daniel Wallace (1998) (Burton took it to the big screen in 2003). You might've read it; anyway, I'm telling you this. Besides being metafictional, etc… etc…, the novel deals with a sensitive issue: a man becomes the stories he tells, as they survive him; they become his legacy, and as he creates them, the make a bigger pond for him to swim and become a bigger fish, as big as the limits set by his own fiction allow him. Your poem reminds of this, yes, but also and more important, your poem has made me realize I was analyzing it from a anthropocentric perspective: it's not only people's ambitions who can grow bigger and so make them bigger too, but eternity itself, as wide a concept as it can be, the always, the never, are just human notions, the shell of our species, our boundaries within what we call the cosmos.
Something is burning. Now I’ll retire to a mountain and shave my head.
Love you, @prydefoltz. Please, never stop writing ♥

So kind, Marlyn. I do hope dinner did not burn. Humans can be thought of as physical and metaphysical. The physical is bound to time and changes only as time will allow. The metaphysical ... thought and mind ... are not governed by limits. We pay a lot of attention to the physical and often allow the mind to run on pattern and respond to conditions and so we choose to limit the mind. No need to shave the head but spending some time everyday allowing your mind to be free ... meditate ... can shift perspective and allow thought to evolve past patterns and well-worn narrative. By breaking from patterned thinking, we can affect change on the physical and evolve:)

I hope that makes sense. Sending you love:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz ♥ It makes sense indeed. I confess I don't know how to meditate. I tried when I was a teenager, but I failed several times. I do give a lot of thought to all things I can, though, but there are blank spaces.

Love received and reciprocated ♥

Blank spaces are meditation ... takes concentration of a sorts but one can learn to stretch out those spaces. Your poetry is beautiful and that tells me you do this when creating:)

Hello everyone! Here I bring my poem today, waiting for them.
"My poetry, my trip"
https://steemit.com/poetry/@zeleiracordero/my-poetry-my-trip-mi-poesia-mi-viaje-100-days-of-poetry-100th-day

I feel that my love
It has expanded.
The sun came out
and the darkness was gone.
We arrived at dawn.

beauty defined

Green flashes twinkle right where I'm standing,
holding my feet, the healing began:
It dawned.

Such an uplifting write, Zeleira:)

"Today, we fly like geese from the nest,
we go together with the air currents,"

This bit really sums it up for me, in two potent lines. Geese stick together and look out for each other, and together they are stronger.

This bit really sums it up for me, in two potent lines. Geese stick together and look out for each other, and together they are stronger.
I love the repetition in the beginning as a way of bringing the idea of building, one line at a time, one stanza by another, one day that turns into one hundred days... very well done. The structure of the poem in interesting and pulls one deeper in. Warm sentiment and congratulations for crossing the finish line with us. <3

Thanks, @mamadini. During the challenge we did not cross the route, but I understand that you are a great poet and a great analyst. Thanks for the good comment.

:: blush ::

I'm just playing with words like the rest of us. I am grateful that some think that highly of me though. I did check in on you during the challenge, but I was really taxed and often out of voting power. I recognize the great poet in you. :)

Congratulations again, dear @zeleiracordero, on your having finished the challenge. No doubt you took it to a new level, not only by writing amazing poetry but by providing support and encouragement to others during this amazing jouney. I'm cutting and pasting the comment/poem I posted to the comments of your entry:

Every time I read your poems, @zeleiracordero, I find something beautiful. But beautiful has many meanings, so I 'll tell why yours are beautiful to me:
Dear Zeleira:
Your lines, my dear lady
tell of the heart's truth.
You've found a way here
to share your light, full.
As I read from your hands
and find some of my own
and take some of your love
to wash hardship away,
I can see you mean well
in all poems, all good.
Thanks for your reading and support throughout this challenge. May all good and light come into your life ♥

Oh! How much sweetheart you have given me, Marlyn. Thank you, once again, dear!

thank you so much for this initiative and hope more poets join. As it is poets are usually not paid. I am going to share this in the poets united discord channel

here is my entry
https://steemit.com/esteem/@sayee/happy-days-60fa70eec3c9b

Sharing with people from different parts of the world seems overwhelming, however it is an experience that brings many satisfactions and the certainty that there is a lot of similarity in what we carry inside, even if we do not speak the same language. Beautiful work that shows how kind and satisfying these meetings are.

There is no ego
Just strolling around
Quite and breathing in the serenity
The smell of incense
The vibes of pure friendship

Your poems are so often my happy place:)

A lovely mind picture here -- I am always in awe of how food can bring people together, the breaking of bread, if you will. I got a real sense of the experience, from the descriptives, the incense, the smiles, the warmth. Just a Lovely feeling piece.

Hi, @sayee

You must be indeed a sensitive writer.

Ah, blissful peace. You took me there, @sayee. Now every time I go to a place like this and feel like this, I will remember you and your poem ♥

Thank you ☻

Thank you for your initiative @prydefoltz. I don't think I wrote a poem this week but it is good to see that others are continuing to write poetry.

Wait a second.

All words are my own.

That's not right at all.

I saw them first.

Hooray for all the poets out there! This looks like a great initiative @prydefoltz :)

Thank you, Denise:) Really appreciated the support:)

This is fantastic! I will be joining in, just not today. :P

What a wonderful community building (through Art) service you are doing here, Pryde.

May the words always flow.

*resteemed. <3

Thank you, Mamadini:) Cool ... you are welcome to post your poem from the 100 Days of Poetry and come back anytime during the week to check out the work of others. Given the upvote and reesteem, you are just about already there:) But no pressure, hun:)

HA, I guess that does cover me for today. This week I will for sure have time to indulge much more in the writings of others (so looking forward to it). Thank you for the gentle nudge, Pryde, it actually makes the child (riffing off of my silly baby photo) in me feel warn and fuzzy. lol ;)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mamadini/another-day-day-100-of-100-d-pend

Delicate thread that builds a small magic carpet that slides by a gentle farewell with slopes. it's more like "see you later". Totally beautiful! I love, a lot, these lines:

it is to look upon,
a parting glance

a twist on a strand,
a turn in the road

Excellent work, @mamadini. It was a pleasure reading.

Cut and pasted :3

Ah, beautiful! It's sweet melancholy. This piece got warmth into my chest, @mamadini
I remember what Poe calls "unity of effect." Your poem has it. I've read it twice and I'll do it again. Thank you ☻

Thank you for running these community building challenges. I look forward to participating. 😎

We wait for you, poet!

Yes, Steve ... come join us:):):) We know you have some poems:)

Hey this is an awesome contest. I am happy that there are more people starting to support more poetry contests and communities. By the way you are welcome to join Poets United (The only Community in steemit Specialized for poets and poetry lovers )

Thank you, Angel. Do you have a link?

Hi! Is it an invite we can use, too, @angelveselinov?

Sure All Are Welcome To Join In ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61497.04
ETH 2478.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66