Dead Poems Society, Round 9, Contest and Community Building

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Dead Poems Society, Round 9

A_Wilde_time_3 (1).jpg

     Attribution

Oscar Wilde has Yeats on the Ghostbuster's phone, and they are talking about that great poem you wrote yards ago. It's either that or Wilde has an earache. The question is why isn't everyone talking about your great verse. What ... it's dead. That can't be true, great poems never die. But they can have the blockchain sit on them and keep piling on so they can't breathe. Push off all those butterflies, blossoms, recipes, and rants, and let that poem roam free-range once again.

It's Sunday and time to close off #poetryweekend with #deadpoems.

The Rules

  • Upvote and re-esteem this post.
  • The post must be at least a week old.
  • Vote for 1-3 other entries in the comment section. Do NOT upvote the original post. That is a wasted vote. Upvote the comment here.
  • I will choose from among the poets/poems that received the most votes and best quality comments and gave the best comments and did their diligent best to upvote 1-3 other entries.
  • Depending on the size of the payout, I try to reward as many people as possible.
  • Poems only, all forms of poetry welcomed.
  • Don't vote for yourself

Last week's post has not paid-out yet and I actually want to go outside and tromp the moors in search of medicinal berries and a newly-single Heathcliff. Yeah, Katherine was born again and since then she hasn't been any fun. I will return with a brooding, invisible beau and the results from the last week a little later.

So file through your oldies but goodies and drop the link below:):):)
Update ... the liquid payout on last week was around 0.535 SBD, hard to to give exact amount as part is currently being reward in steem ... and that be moving around. We had 6 great participants and everyone will receive 0.1 SBD.

@corderosiete
@momzillanc
@zeleiracordero
@marlyncabrera
@kilbride
@blockurator

Sort:  

You feel that you have no hope, a dark cloud passes through your essence that needs to be clarified.

The poem presents an evolution of perception with the senses to feel with the being, with the soul. Reality resists the complex, clouded by pain. However, the poem culminates with a strong determination: to live what you are feeling.
There are many feelings in writing. Excellent work, Pryde!

I hadn’t read this one of yours before. It’s amazing. I sense the words were of romantic loss. But, they could almost be a description of audio-visual effects during a migraine.

@prydefoltz,

I read your poem.

Stop Meditating! I keep telling you, Pryde, all this sitting around on a Yoga mat, power-humming while spooning probiotic yogurt ... it's going to drive you batty. Your brain was designed to think about something ... not to not-think about nothing. Et voila ... all this iridescent and opalescent hallucinatory stuff. (You don't, by any chance, add anything to the yogurt, do you?)

Seriously, though ... this contest is a bloody genius idea ... a second kick at the can and it doesn't set off cheetah-bot. Pryde Foltz, you are a clever gal. Aristotelian, in fact. :-)

I don't eat much yogurt. Not a fan. Meditation allows one a little more control over what they think about as well and releasing oxytocin into the system. It also fosters creativity:):):) This poem is a little more about what can happen if I don't meditate enough. You have been warned:)

@prydefoltz,

It also fosters creativity

Dreaming in technicolor sounds like hallucinating to me.

This poem is a little more about what can happen if I don't meditate enough. You have been warned:)

I concede.

Oh dear ... I do hope you are kidding and do dream in color:)

@prydefoltz,

In salute to Pryde's brilliant insight on how to turn a $2.00 poem into a $3.00 poem, without setting off cheetah-bot, here's my entry:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/raving-refrain-poem-a-savagerean-sonnet-explanation-100-days-of-poetry-contest-day-5

Quill

Welcome, quill. Alas, I cannot take full credit for the idea. @whatamidoing started the ball going with the #deadpostinitiative. I borrowed and altered:):):)

@prydefoltz,

...Oh.

OK ... let's try it your way:

In recognition of Pryde's borrowing and altering of what she'd seen somewhere else about how to turn a $2.00 poem into a $3.00 poem without setting off cheetah-bot, here's my entry:

Pryde, you ruined my entrance.

You do recall that I'm in advertising, right?

:-) Nice to talk to again. It's been a while.

Quill

Your poem is terrific. And your essay is very educational. You’re a much more learned poet than I.

@momzillanc.

You’re a much more learned poet than I.

I'm just old.

I’m not young. LOL

A very didactic publication. I could not translate the poem because it is in image format. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

Here’s my contribution for this week’s Round 9 contest: A mature-themed sensual experience in poetry entitled, “Midnight in the Oasis
https://steemit.com/poetry/@momzillanc/midnight-in-the-oasis

Your"Midnight in the Oasis" poem doth feature some very poetic lines, and to my delight some archaic words.

If you are receptive to th’idea of your further composing it to see if it can become a sonnet, so that it has at least three iambs per line, a traditional or near-traditional sonnet end-rhyme scheme, 10 syllables per line, 14 lines in total, a volta, and most importantly: able to be sung, then I probably wouldn’t be surprised if that is possible for you to do, because its lines are already close to being written in iambic pentameter, and it already features seven pairs of end-rhyming lines.

If you are not yet confident in knowing how to properly identify the correct accentuation and syllabication of each and every word in th’English language, and would like learn how to do so, then I hope that you will read my "An Unambiguous Tutorial on How to Write Metrical Poetry", which I published around a month ago.

If you are receptive to th'aforementioned idea, and as the first line of your poem doth not haveth a matching end-rhyming line, what do you think about th'idea of your making that line into its title, so that your poem will have 14 lines (as sonnets do), and because your poem itself already has "midnight in the oasis" as part of its final line?

But perhaps you do not like the thought of your “Midnight in the Oasis” poem becoming a sonnet and are happy enough with the way that it is. If so then I am happy for you.

I appreciate your advice. I’m glad you liked my poem. However, it was not my intent to write a sonnet, and definitely not my intent to write in iambic pentameter. Having performed some of Shakespeare’s plays, back in the long ago past, I grew to loathe iambic pentameter. LOL

I do sometimes write in strict rhyme and meter, though, as in my historical poem, “Do You Know The Muffin Man” or in my horror-themed poem, “Mary, Mary, How Does Your Garden Grow?”. I also sometimes compose songs, as with “Shariara’s Lament” – which also included the tune I composed, and is sung by me.

BTW, I enjoyed your article. It was informative and engaging. But, am still not enamored of iambic pentameter. :D

@momzillanc,

Actually, you've got a good point regarding iambic pentameter and there's a neurological explanation. I modified the traditional sonnet form to compensate for it. Click on my entry and read the explanation part of the post if you're interested.

Quill

@momzillanc,

Girls!

I'm teasing. It's a well-written poem. As a guy, a bit emotionally smothering. The stereotype survives.

Guys!

I'm going to stop there because Pryde will undoubtedly spank me ... for something ... as she always does when ever I talk about anything relating to maleness-femaleness. (Like, for example, why did I just write "maleness" first and "femaleness" second?)

Nice job. Followed.

Thank you. As for the “femaleness” of my poem… Well, I can only write my own emotional state in the moments set down in this poem. 😉

@momzillanc,

I wasn't in any way a criticism. In reality, it was what I call ... "pryde-bait." :-)

Keep up the great job.

"Midnight in the oasis" is a interesting poem of love in the court, with playful expressions, such as:

Our bodies writing twist and Twain

I realize, due to the context, because it can not be translated by the beautiful frame that you created.

Thank you. The poem is a poetic expression of lovemaking.

A point of clarity: That quote is “Our bodies [writhing] [twixt] and twain”
“writhing” means continual moving or contortions of the body
“twixt” is a contraction of “betwixt” which is an archaic form of “between”
“twain” is an archaic term for “two”

Very clear! I get it. Wonderfully sensual!

"Wormhole" presents the vision of the man of the future, evolved, but in the same existential uncertainty, feeling the decisive passage of time, the basic answers about the Creation, the Universe, the Nothing: Still without answers.

An intriguing and expansive perspective in your poem.

@corderosiete,

A.) You've hanging around with @d-pend, haven't you?

B.) Black. Bleak. Smothering. Ah ... I need to go have a smoke. And maybe a drink too (or two too).

I'm not sure what to take away from this poem. Could you explain what it means to you? What was your motivation for writing it and what do you expect a reader to contemplate about it?

Sorry for the delay in answering, I did not have internet. The poem is about old age. The men who were great and time have devoured it. They are shadows of a past where they were recognized by society. Your memories travel like in a wormhole to the past. Today we can be light, tomorrow we are shadows.

@corderosiete,

Lovely. Now that I understand it ... I'm even more depressed. I'm 50. :-)

Seriously though, strong imagery and, obviously, it created an emotional impact. That's what good poetry does. Well done.

My "Shipwreck'd Desires" sonnet with literary video: https://steemit.com/poetry/@lanniebrockstein/am7bjei7
Video - Lannie Brockstein - Shipwreck'd Desires - 32 - snap photo - 01.png

Good writing @lanniebrockstein, under a look of gray sky, a cracked wall in dark nights.

Your poem reads like something written by a contemporary of the likes of Wilde and Dickinson.

But with an important progression: That it is not only meant to be read or recited; it is also meant to be sung. To paraphrase Irving Mills, "If a sonnet doesn't sing then it don't mean a thing."

Avant-gardism is nothing but artless when its practitioners are unaware of the paradox that "what is old hath becometh new".

It is not about reinventing the wheel. Should everybody walk around naked until they have learned how to spin cotton and sew their own clothes? And before that, to teach themselves how to grow cotton, and then to have invented on their own a cotton spinning machine?

What a dark age so much of the 20th century was.

I feel that the "Shipwreck'd Desires"speaks to us of a stormy love. A long relationship, but with vagaries and moments of tension. A passionate love broken, with crying around. Good job, @lanniebrockstein.

Do we continue with each other what our previous lovers left amiss?

A sonnet ... the deep end of the pool. Nicely done.

I'm not sure I understand your frequent use of "'d" instead of "ed" throughout the poem. I'd love to learn your logic. Incidentally, I included a sonnet (with a stylistic adaptation) as well. I'd love to get your feedback.

Quill

To make it easier for the reader to count each line's syllables, if they are so inclined.

Here, my dead poem:
Human pendulum

I love your poem. These lines stood out for me:

Tearing the veil of our visions,
we return to our tracks with an invisible guide,

The soul remains in the water with stone wings

You must sew your fears to your wings
so that she can fly them, fly them away

When we remember who we are,
We will go beyond the human pendulum.

Oh thank you, dear @momzillanc. I love that you liked.

The human pendulum shows us the movement of life. Nothing is static. Dynamism makes us write our history.

@zeleiracordero,

As Winston Churchill once said, "When you're going through Hell ... keep going." The motto of the military unit in which I served was, "March or Die." Life is about suffering. The only way to escape the reality is to die young. Pick yourself up and move on.

Great sentiment and if that was a translation from Spanish, well done. It works very well in English.

Quill

Hi, @prydefoltz ♥ Thanks for hosting.

Love your sense of humor. This is genius:

It's either that or Wilde has an earache.

Made me laugh. Thanks! ☻


Hi, you dear poetry lovers ♥

Here's my entry for #DeadPoems this week:

"Free"

An engaging and moving poem with a beautifully artistic presentation

There are so many things to learn in this post that I like your post

wow awesome blog sir..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76