WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

DQmPRqQ5nk3MRWoTWAXjwEUjXUrideid1xcMEBeLH53dNx5.jpeg

It was 2pm on Wednesday when I decided to check on my mailbox for an update on the contract I was expecting. I had given up hopes for two days since nothing was forthcoming but for righteousness sake I clicked on "inbox". It was a cold Wednesday with all in my home freezing out. My pregnant partner had gone out to the hospital for one of those her regular check ups as she was just about due for delivery in about a week. Julie was all I ever had and "Prince", as we called our unborn son, was our only surviving pregnancy after three miscarriages and many barren years prior to those miscarriages.

"Hey Pat, the world's gonna end in 96 freaking hours! A meteor is headed down our planet and it's too late to stop it. This information has been kept off the public in order to avoid chaos but I just had to tell you".

This, George's mail, was the only new mail I had received in a week and was delivered by 11am meaning many would have to die while in church on Sunday morning.

My limbs became stiff and my heart started drumming profusely as the cold disappeared in my apartment. All I thought of was how I was going to break the news to my beautiful Julie, how I'd never get the chance to see my Prince with just 3 days or more left; how I wouldn't be a father after all.

"hello my world" Julie said smiling as she returned from the clinic- the world she never knew was cdumbling- "Prince is in perfect condition and ready to cry in our loving arms" she concluded but I could only giggle.
Knowing who I was and how excited I got whenever "Prince" was mentioned, she knew nothing was right but to save myself from the nags of a pregnant woman I showed her George's mail. Her reaction scared me though as she was all smiles.

"we'll have our Prince" she said "with God nothing is impossible".
Well, that summed up her faith in God. But my world was crashing and I could tell assuredly that no miracle was going to happen; no not one! Not in this case!

Three days gone and it was earth's last day. It was 10am and we had just an hour more to spend together as a family. I couldn't go to church so as to spend the last seconds of my life with all that mattered to me on earth.

We cuddled tightly as I kept communicating with Prince with numerous kisses on Julie's navel.

Hell was let loose when a minute was all that I had left; tears flowed from my eyes as I bathed my beautiful Julie with them.

11am and my phone rang! Though I hesitated for some seconds, I decided to make my last call on earth.

"hey Pat!" George spoke, "the world's not ending no more" he muttered after a 10 seconds pause and concluded "it was all a plot by myself and Julie to mark the April Fools Day. Congratulations Pat, you'll be a father!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43