Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 7 {Slider Rollout} Plus leave your entries for week 3 here!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hello again! On to the final day of week 3 in the Plank Challenge! I'm out running a 5k at the moment, so once again I am capitalizing on doing a scheduled post. I couldn't leave you guys hanging on the last day of the week. Don't forget this is the spot to leave a link to your entry post if you want to join in for some prizes this week!

For the final day of the sliders my exercise is perhaps not thought of as a traditional planking variation, but I figured it hits close enough to count. If you are really advanced you can actually do the rollout from a high plank position for a killer version of this. I'm not quite there yet, so I'll keep it to my knees. You can do the standard rollout with both arms or jazz it up with alternating arms extending out. Most of the time I do a combination of both--half of the work period doing each of the variations.

Cues:

  1. Like yesterday, place your hands centered on the sliders for a good foundation.
  2. Lock in that core yet again because it is really easy on this one to overextend and feel pressure in your low back if you don't maintain tension in your abdominal muscles.
  3. Only slide out as far as you feel comfortable while still maintaining that tight core. Think about really tucking in your belly button as you use your abs to pull yourself back into the start position.
  4. Have I mentioned breathing lately? Keep doing it.

Beginner: Perform for 30 seconds

Intermediate: Perform for 45 seconds

Advanced: Perform for 60 seconds

This exercise is one that you can do on a multitude of tools--ab roller/wheel, TRX straps, or even a stability ball. A stability ball is a great way to start out on this because your torso is elevated putting less stress on the shoulders. You would just have your forearms on top of the ball instead of the hands (which also provides a more solid foundation to perform the movement from). It is a great way to really learn how to activate many of the core stabilizer muscles. Though you will feel it in your arms and shoulders, you want to use the abs as the main movers here so focus on that strength in the center of the body. I love this one for my @runningproject pals, too.

The final week starts tomorrow, so make sure to join in while you have the chance! If you have any questions just let me know.

Happy Planking!

Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 6
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 5
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 4
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 3
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 2
Plank Challenge Week 3, Day 1

*Make sure to consult your health professional if you have any current or prior medical issues that may prohibit starting a new exercise program.



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

As usual, one valuable exercise more for my weekly core workout!
Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is one of my favorite ones. 😁

Indeed is a good workout for rear leg muscles as well as core, glutes and isquiotibials

Posted using Partiko iOS

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Always good advice those that you give, dear @plantstoplanks, congratulations!!

Thanks @mad-runner! Just doing my best to try to inspire people to get moving. 😊

I hope your 5k was fun and successful!

It was a good event, thanks! I'll try to get in a recap post this evening.

Looks like fun, the rollouts, amazing. Upvoted.

This is a great move to add to your routine! I regularly incorporate different variations of this one in my own workouts. 😀

Awesome. Totally agreed, thanks so much. Upvoted.

Done, I ranked them from the ones I liked the most to those I liked the least this week. https://steemit.com/actifit/@byebyehamburgers/actifit-byebyehamburgers-20180924t205321667z

Looking forward to finishing strong in week 4.
Keep it up!

Awesome! Thanks again for joining in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48